We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little something different”
Review of A Tavola

A Tavola
Reserve with
A Tavola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,733 of 3,805 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Plantage & the East
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A little something different”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Got a recommendation for this place, and didn't have the energy to walk much farther after spending a couple hours at the brewery down the street. The food from start to finish was excellent. The price for what we got I thought was reasonable. I would recommend this place especially if you are staying in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank theWinterMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very crammed but worth it!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were staying just across the canal from the restaurant and, having arrived late, just needed somewhere to eat. We found A Tavola by chance just walking across the bridge and even though we were crammed into a corner the food was outstanding. Well worth a visit if you are in the area, authentic Italian food cooked and served by Italians.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_a_leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TRUE Italy in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

An amazing discovery in Amsterdam.
I've had my share of Italian restaurants, from Italy itself, to Portugal. But this one, and if we talk of food, its most definitly, in the top 3.
Cozy environment near the Amstel, nice staff, and a perfect cuisine.
Even tough the prices are not on the cheap side, it certainly worth every euro.
It's a must in Amsterdam!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLourenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Attitude.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The food at A Tavola is excellent but the service is the opposite. After we ordered a bottle of wine I asked for a carafe of water and was told that they only serve bottled water. I told the waiter that I would prefer tap water and would rather go elsewhere if he insisted on bottled water. I did get a glass of water but was held in disdain the whole evening and will not be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cobele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The food is good, but ....”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Agreed, the food is good, but the service is awful. Arrogant and disinterested. We had to ask twice for our second glas of wine by which time we had almost finished our second course. The bread and tapenade were whisked away after the first course even though we hadn't finished with it. The waiter was more interested in clearing away the tables and chairs on the terrace than on serving. In the end at 22 hrs we were sitting in an island of empty space. This doesn't add to the atmosphere. Left and had deserts elsewhere... We wont be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Tavola also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to A Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing