We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge tasty courses!!”
Review of Chez Georges

Chez Georges
Reserve with
Chez Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #515 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge tasty courses!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Got in without a booking and chose the 5 course menu but only managed about three and a half! Portions huge. Food excellent. Staff friendly and very knowledgeable. Very enjoyable and unexpected evening

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisplatt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    26
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We came here on our final night in Amsterdam for what we planned to be our family's main 'fine dinning' of the trip, and it didn't disappoint. The place was quite small and had a wonderful 'homely' and classic atmosphere. We ended up having a 4 course menu that was offered at the start of the evening with seafood, duck-3-ways, beef or venison and waffle. The menu was actually reasonably priced for two starters, a main and a dessert (about 38 euro's per person). It was our first time sampling Belgian cuisine, and it was so good we might have to try it again. The service was good but the restaurant was full (glad we booked, wouldn't have got in with a table for 5 if we hadn't) and sometimes it was hard to get the waiter's attention to get some more water. Definitely a good place to come for a special(er) dinner while in Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A lovely choice in a perfect location”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Charming, sweet little restaurant recommended by our concierge on our recent trip. I don't think we would have found this otherwise, as it doesn't have a terribly trendy feel, but rather a homey, comforting vibe. The tiny mezzanine was perfect for an early dinner, and the wait staff certainly knows the food and the pace. Portions are large- we stuck to the smallest of the tasting menus, yet still enjoyed an amuse, the duck 'three ways', a lovely filet and lamb, and dessert followed by coffee and chocolates. The wait team was most accommodating, subbing ingredients based upon our needs. Wine list very gently priced with a few interesting bottles. I agree with some earlier reviews- the weakest link was dessert, but perhaps seeing the kitchen there isn't really room for devoted pastry stations. This kitchen isn't producing new directions, but if comfort and consistency of classics at a great price is your dish, put this one high on your list.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
388 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“France in the Herenstraat”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nothing has changed in this small restaurant since the original Georges died about a year ago, except for the chef. He has followed exactly in Georges' footsteps. The waiters are still personable. The wine list is still excellent. The multi-course dinner is still the same menu. The prices still reasonable. I go here for the atmosphere: quirky baroque. A friend from the Middle East wanted his lamb well done. The kitchen obliged. But that exception is only for regulars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
535 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Belgian formal dining in a great location”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Chez Georges may not be for all tastes as it is small, a bit old fashioned and formal. However, for a relaxed, fine Belgian meal with friends it was excellent. We had a four course menu and I enjoyed each one. Started with a great assortment of duck meats and carpaccio, followed by a seafood soup, an excellent lamb course and then an excellent chocolate dessert. The original Georges has passed on, but the waiters are the same and the chef continues in Georges' foot steps. I went with people from the neighborhood who are regulars. Service was excellent and the intimate atmosphere was refreshing. Highly recommended if you want a classic dining experience that you can't find very often. if you want hip and modern, this is not for you. The location in a side street just off the Herengracht is excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Georges also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chez Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing