We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed lovely meal”
Review of Chez Georges

Chez Georges
Reserve with
Chez Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #540 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed lovely meal”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went here for my husbands 50th birthday. it was like going back in time in a good way. The service was impeccable, the food was amazing left feeling very well fed but comfortable, we were made to feel special. very good value for money. We have our favourite restaurants in Amsterdam one being Lucius. This is now on the short list we will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J-j-rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    27
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Belgian Abundance”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Chez Georges is hard to get in, I was told and that was the reason I never tried it before. But an invitation by friends who are regulars there, opened the door, also for me. The cuisine proved to be very abundant, very Belgian and therefor slightly old-fashioned. However the food was excellent and the various sauces very tempting. My friends are real wine-lovers, so I gladly accepted their choices, although I boldly intervened when the Gicondas turned out to be too acrid and harsh to my taste. We were offered a Medoc in stead - well you can hardly go wrong with that! All in all a memorable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go for the recommended menu!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I went for dinner in this restaurant with my family, we all had the recommended 4 course meal, it was absolutely fantastic, especially the two starters! It's a small, tight place, just like eating round someone's hourse, with plenty of character, and the staff were great. Service is continental, so plenty of time for conversation between courses.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge tasty courses!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Got in without a booking and chose the 5 course menu but only managed about three and a half! Portions huge. Food excellent. Staff friendly and very knowledgeable. Very enjoyable and unexpected evening

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisplatt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We came here on our final night in Amsterdam for what we planned to be our family's main 'fine dinning' of the trip, and it didn't disappoint. The place was quite small and had a wonderful 'homely' and classic atmosphere. We ended up having a 4 course menu that was offered at the start of the evening with seafood, duck-3-ways, beef or venison and waffle. The menu was actually reasonably priced for two starters, a main and a dessert (about 38 euro's per person). It was our first time sampling Belgian cuisine, and it was so good we might have to try it again. The service was good but the restaurant was full (glad we booked, wouldn't have got in with a table for 5 if we hadn't) and sometimes it was hard to get the waiter's attention to get some more water. Definitely a good place to come for a special(er) dinner while in Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Georges also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chez Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing