We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Belhamel

De Belhamel
Reserve with
De Belhamel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$54
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant De Belhamel is located at the junction of two of Amsterdam’s most beautiful canals, the Brouwersgracht (“Brewers’ canal”) and the Herengracht (“Gentlemen’s canal”). It is one of the city’s prettiest spots, quietly situated at the edge of the Jordaan area and offering splendid views on both canals.In summer lunch and dinner are served outside in these lovely surroundings.Not only the location, also the restaurant’s interior is unique: the venue is entirely decorated in the early 20th century Art-Nouveau style, with many original details. The restaurant and entresol give a view over the canals, the bar offers a fine opportunity to enjoy an aperitif before dinner.From 2007 onwards Michelin has rewarded De Belhamel with a ‘Bib Gourmand’.We are looking forward to welcoming you at De Belhamel.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

On a wet Amsterdam Sunday this restaurant lifted our spirits whilst waiting for the weather to change to sail our boat back to uk from holland. Delightful service great food lovely atmosphere

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseylunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    304
    56
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

For our last night in Amsterdam, we wanted a special meal in a setting overlooking one of the canals. We could not have picked a better spot. Lovely small restaurant with beautiful views. If the weather had cooperated we could have dined al fresco. We ended up in at a table next to the window, which was terrific. Very good service and the food was excellent. Easy walk from the 9s. Prices not too bad for Amsterdam. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This little gem was suggested to us by The Toren and they were spot on. After making early reservations for us, we arrived and were warmly greeted. Both of the wait staff were lovely, pleasant and helpful. I had the pork chop with pasta my spouse had wild sea bass. The pork chop was cooked perfectly, just pink, succulent and tender. The pasta was good as it had a bot of cheese holding it together. The sea bass looked good and the little tomatoes that were served with the sea bass were the sweetest little things I've ever tasted. We passed on dessert, but I would highly recommend this restaurant to those who appreciate quality and talent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“charming restaurant on a canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

this place has a great location, a few seats right on the canal and a lovely menu. It's a bit pricier but excellent food quality, really good wine and great service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish decor. Great grub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hot as hades outside in the sun, but a lovely, cooler interior by a window, so keeping the canal view. Well presented smallish portions, but it was lunch, of excellent quality. Bit of a mix up with my main (language?) but what they thought I ordered was better than what I thought I had ordered!! Not expensive given the locale and location, but not easy to find if you're looking for it. We were just wandering, it was lunchtime, it looked good-and was.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank InnocentAmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Belhamel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Belhamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing