We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great take on modern Dutch food”
Review of New Dorrius

New Dorrius
Ranked #405 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$50
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with an inspiring menu of Dutch classics and International favourites. The bar is the perfect place for a nice cup of thee or coffee during the day, but also great for meeting your friends after and to enjoy a cocktail! The restaurant, designed by Patrick Diedericks, has a modern look and feel. Enjoy your healthy breakfast in the morning, a light lunch in the afternoon and a relaxing dinner in the evening, or simply enjoy a nice glass of wine at the bar. Every month we serve a changing menu with ingredients of the season.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great take on modern Dutch food”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ignore the fact that this is a hotel restaurant: it does great modern Dutch food at a good price. The sauerkraut is excellent with 7 different varieties of meat - the black pudding is especially good - and tasty mash underneath. I had the appetizer of "cheese three ways" instead of the cheese board and it was extraordinary: an unctuous old cheese cream and a unique goat cheese marshmallow. Bread, butters and amuse bouche were good, and service was friendly and prompt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingKiwi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your restaurant experience with the community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent visit in our New Dorrius restaurant and tried various traditional Dutch dishes.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the modern atmosphere and that you comment that the service was friendly and prompt as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    108
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing food!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

An excellent restaurant serving delicious food. Only wish we had eaten here every night! You have to try it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your restaurant experience with the community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. Furthermore it is wonderful that you recommend it to other guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
309 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great especially for a chain hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a really good 3 course set menu dinner.

Lamb rump smoked and served with mushroom brioche toast - Very tasty.

cod with saffron risotto - Probably the best cooked piece of fish I had in the last six months anywhere.

Chocolate brownie - Not low fact or healthy but great all the same.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TurboKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your restaurant experience with the community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our Menu of the Month. This is indeed a 3-course set menu for Euro 29,50 and varies every month.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed it and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in the future!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings and good service. Ok food.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here. My goats cheese salad didn't have the crostini in it which it was advertised as having. Staff very courteous. Quiet surroundings in the bustle of central Amsterdam.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janevdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed lunch in our New Dorrius restaurant. I am sorry to read that you missed the crostini in your goat cheese salad. Apologize for any inconvenience cost and I trust that this was resolved immediately when bringing this to our attention.

Furthermore is wonderful to read that you comment our staff as being very courteous, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

Please contact me directly if you wish to share additional comments with us as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer- Jaap.Roomeijer@ihg.com
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went here on our first night after walking around aimlessly for a bit. Staff very welcoming, especially Djendro, who was very friendly and entertained us with a bit of history about the restaurant and hotel (found out we work for the same hotel chain, albeit in different countries!)
Pea soup is gorgeous, however very filling, so would suggest sharing it as a starter. You also get a choice of bread and butter, tomato butter is lush. Lamb was incredible, the best I have ever had, would highly recommend and definitely going back for more!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at New Dorrius, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you also work for IHG and that you describe one of our staff embers as being friendly and welcoming.

Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed one of our traditional Dutch dishes the Pea soup served with rye bread and smoked bacon.

Thank you for recommending New Dorrius and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Dorrius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New Dorrius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing