We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian food without Indian hospitality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
Reserve with
Gandhi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #531 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centrum
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Indian food without Indian hospitality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We went there for finally having authentic Indian food in Amsterdam. The place was served by only one guy hence expect the delay in service. What I didn't like was that the owner was trying too hard to make money; we asked for pickle and person serving us said it is chargeable since it costs money to bring it from India. This wasn't expected from a Indian restaurant. However, the food was OK hence 3 stars.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnujAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    134
    39
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Indian ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife are big Indian food lovers from Sydney. This didn't disappoint! We had our usual Butter chicken and Lamb saag with garlic naan. It was delicious. No complaints at all. All reasonably priced too. Staff very nice too..

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This place is hidden in a building but finding it is easy.
The food is simply amazing. The owner and the staff made sure that they make the food according to your taste. Absolute authentic Indian food in Amsterdam.
Would love to go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank navsoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Indian food to your taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hidden gem is well worth finding. Look for their small sign above the sidewalk, go down the long corridor, avoid the massage parlor and you're there. The staff is the best and they will adjust the curry to your liking. Try the Butter Chicken. I don't normally like spicy food but went back for this dish 3 times. Great value for your Euro. It takes time to prepare a fine meal so plan the evening accordingly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank old_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food near Central Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Good Indian food and value for money. If you want spicy food then tell them in starting. They will make it in complete Indian way. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Ambiance is bit old and entrance is bit scary. But don't get fooled by it. Just go inside and order your plate. Its really worth having Indian food here. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ankita0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing