We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great back alley Italian”
Review of Mappa

Mappa
Ranked #452 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great back alley Italian”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I've eaten in this place probably 5 times over the last few years and it's a great reliable restaurant. It's not the fanciest, but he food is always really good, it's cozy, the staff are great and it's in a great location.
Last time I was there I had some kind of steak and linguine dish which was completely fantastic. It is very reasonably priced too but just try to book as it does get really busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovepeas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    92
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harbour Grace, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, prompt service, delicious food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff is super friendly and attentive, and our food arrived quickly, despite being very busy (it was Saurday night). Had the artichoke and leek ravioli and it was sooo good. My friends all had the spaghetti, and they said it was delicious as well. Only con was that, for an Italian restaurant, they had a very limited wine selection. Would still recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiewinsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant and Warm”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I pocked this restaurant via trip advisor and we hit the bull's eye. First of all, the person whom we presumed to be the owner was very polite and attentive and so was the waiter. They were really classy people. Second, the food was amazing. We were very tired, so we thought having some pizza would be a good way to call it a night and ordered pizza along with some bruschetta. They were all extremely delicious!! (I had pizza Quattro formaggio and my husband had a pizza with pepperoni) everything tasted Italian and we enjoyed it very much. The price was normal (not too cheap though) for such service. In short, if you'd like to have an Italian food experience amidst Amsterdam, Mappa is the best choice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nesliatcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
227 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Service & Good Food”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Yesterday we had diner with some client, who just arrived from Asia, so a relaxed atmosphere was very important.
We were welcomed very friendly and good pick our own table.
We asked to make an anti pasta for us and they great a wonderful plate with all kind of small tastings.
As main course they made several preparations of pasta and they were really good.
Staff is very friendly.
Can definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just spot on.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Travelling with my girlfriend and our 4-year-old son, we could not have imagined a better place for dinner. The staff is super-friendly and very accommodating, and the dishes were both very tasty and something our kid actually enjoyed eating (a rare quality). Great find, will definitely come back for the surprisingly good food & friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chotofoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mappa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mappa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing