We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pfingsten Holiday near the Dam”
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Ranked #47 of 3,964 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$46
Cuisines: European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pfingsten Holiday near the Dam”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a bank holiday and Pfingsten (whatever that means in Christendom), plus a very hot day, so essentially the entire planet was trying to get a table here. Therefore a bad time to judge. However this was our second time and the staff did a marvelous job and remained friendly despite working like dogs.

The starter was absolutely delicious, main course pretty average and dessert OK. As I say if you can produce something edible in these conditions it is quite a feat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    436
    80
    20
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Interesting yet uncomplicated Dutch food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

In an alley which is quite central with outdoor seating too. Has soups, sandwiches with a rather interesting twist. Coffee was average, house rose wine excellent and so the sandwiches too. Plum cake was excellent and moist.

Helpful?
Thank nolanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Make a point to get there early, no reservations!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

WOW, we were told about this place even after we'd read about it on Trip Advisor. We were told go early they do not take reservations. So we did, grateful for that tidbit of info.
We only waited mage 20 minutes for a table. People were standing outside in numbers waiting for a table. There is almost no waiting room inside the restaurant.
There is NO menu, one of the excellently trained servers comes by the table and tells you the menu of the evening. 4 appetizers, 4 entrees, and 4 desserts, salad and frites available. So our choices were House made Pate', and Serano & salumi plate. I ordered the Indonesian Chicken , which was SO FLAVORFUL and tender. My husband Salmon. We were both very pleased with the entire meal, service and experience.
No desserts for us. Wine with dinner and we were happy. One of the best meals on our trip!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant near Dam Square”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The restaurant is located in Nes, and is a short walk south from Dam Square. It is a pleasant haven from the hustle and bustle of the square.

The friendly staff advise the content of the day's menu verbally but do so slowly and explain the content of each dish, so we didn't have any problems. I had calamari in a chilli sauce to start, the steak with strawberry sauce and goat's cheese for main and pear tart for dessert. All were delicious.

We ate early at 5 p.m. on a Friday afternoon and the restaurant did fill up as the evening progressed, so I'd imagine it would be busy at peak dining times. It also doubles up as a bar for locals, but this did not distract from the atmosphere, which was very pleasant.

The bill for 4 of us including drinks was EUR 125 which was very good value and I would definitely return when in Amsterdam next.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Coach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice venue but food won't be for everyone”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant having seen the review on trip advisor. We went on a night when it was full inside and out, which our server told us was unusual as normally the weather would mean only one or the other was full. It did mean the service was very slow.

Our sever explained the starters to us. We saw someone else on a larger table having a mixed platter starter. We asked if they could do one for two and were only too happy to oblige. It meant we were able to try 5 different starters. Home made me at and fish pates were lovely however the Stilton one just tasted like blue cheese. The octopus was under seasoned and a bit bland.

For main course we had the steak with strawberry sauce and the Dutch stew. Both were too sweet and under seasoned for my taste but fine for my partner were lovely.

I may have been watching too much masterchef but it felt like the chef was trying to cook a bit above his ability and not quite making it.

We would recommend it as it is a friendly place with a good atmosphere but be careful what you order.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing