We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and lots of good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aphrodite - CLOSED

Aphrodite
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and lots of good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The restaurant is very dark, albeit cozy and the hostess is friendly. We ordered the mixed grill, which was very good and plenty to eat, especially meat. After the meal, we were offered cupcakes to celebrate the 2nd birthday of the hostess' dog.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joh4nL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Tiny restaurant, great atmosphere, friendly staff, and amazing food. We learned these are Greek family recipes passed down though generations and you could tell! If you like Greek food, seek this place out and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jill-geoff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Othis, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have been coming here since I was a little kid and I was in Amsterdam. Loes (hostess and owner) is a very nice friendly woman. The atmosphere is very nice and the tables and chairs sit like you are in Greece, which make the experience even better. The food is really good, they have a Greek cook who makes the meals in the kitchen. The bathrooms are ready for an upgrade, but you can still do your think there.

I would not recommended going here when there is a big guy serving here. He is really slow and does not really pay attention to his guests. I heard several people complaining about him.

Also make sure you bring cash money, because you are not able to pay here with debit or creditcard! (This will change in 2013 though, the owner told me they will install a debit/creditcard)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Not_Important1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Aphrodite in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had dinner here, based on reviews on another (Dutch) site. Here's summary of our experience.

The restaurant is small and has a homely feel about it. Besides the hostess there was no other personnel serving. There were also a cat (Bas) and dog (Olijfje). The cat is resident in the restaurant and is there to catch the mice (according to the hostess).

My wife opted for vegatarian and I went for the stifado. The vegatarion dish was soso, the stifado lacked in flavour, the meat was very tender though. There was a side dish of home made fries, which were nice.

My wife commented on the state of the restrooms as follows: "if I would have known what they looked like, we wouldn't have eaten here".

So, the food was okay (we certainly have had better) and at least the restrooms are in in need of some TLC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clogs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real Greek testaurant in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Loes and her staff know how to make you feel home in the best Greek tradition. You won't get disappointed about the food either, the dishes have an authentic taste of Greek cuisine. Price is average

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkabout_00147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aphrodite also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing