We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balthazar's Keuken

Balthazar's Keuken
Reserve with
Balthazar's Keuken is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #517 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$34
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: Balthazars Keuken restaurant in the heart of the Jordaan district is one of Amsterdam's most special restaurants. It is a long, narrow space set in a former smithy, with scrubbed wooden floors, an open kitchen with pans and utensils hanging in plain view. The moss-coloured banquettes, unadorned wooden seating, and plain white table linens add to the ambience of simplicity and relaxation. And it's tiny, seating just about 30 inside and a few more on the bijou terrace in fine weather. 'Romantic' must be Balthazar's middle name, in spite of the plain surroundings. Owners Karen Gaasterland and Alain Parry create internationally-inflected three-course fixed-price dinners, with a menu that changes every week. They create. You enjoy. No choice about the dishes, though. The starters are tidbits meant to appeal to all. The mains are perfectly-sourced fish or meat with sides. House wine is from the Languedoc, chosen to complement the Mediterranean-inspired cuisine. Dinner and lunch from Wednesday through Saturday. Groups up to ten can dine in the restaurant then, or hire the entire venue for private events during the rest of the week. Very popular, very packed.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Visited here whilst in Amsterdam for a football match, it was worth the effort. The menu is limited but what they do, they do well. The overall experience was fantastic and should I ever go to Amsterdam again I'll be sure to be booking a table here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northern_Casual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    69
    30
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Nice dining with three course weekly menu in great ambience with friendly staff, simply fantastic place for a date!

Helpful?
Thank Miroslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had a great dining experience here in Feb 2014, The mix of starters was tasty and something for everybodys taste, main course of duck was delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Amsterdam but be sure to book in advance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valueformoneyplease9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We made a reservation prior to leaving the States and almost cancelled it once we arrived in Amsterdam. Didn't really know what to expect as reviews were varied and the limited menu options made it a bit scary. But we really liked our meal and feel very comfortable recommending this place.

It is tiny and the tables are so close together up front that it's almost like family style seating. But the atmosphere was warm and welcoming, even for the only non-locals dining at that time. The platter of 5 starters provided a variety of new tastes. There were two choices for main courses- a fish dish and a beef one. Both were excellent. We were also pleased to see a carafe of decent house wine available for 15 euro. Very reasonable for Amsterdam, or anywhere in Europe for that matter. As one would expect here, our inability to speak Dutch wasn't a problem at all.

For visitors willing to take a chance on a cozy little place that's mainly frequented by locals this is a very nice value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shrinkguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food for the price - slightly arrogant service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Food was good. Not expensive, three courses for E32. Nice plate of five mezze/tapas starters to share to begin with - hummus, squid ink stew, cheesy bites and a couple of other things that were lovely. Great bread and amazing butter!
Main was a choice of meat or fish - both very good quality, simple food as you would cook at home for a dinner party but not very imaginative.
Pudding was an ice cream - bit disappointing, but mainly because I find just ice cream a bit dull. As ice cream goes, it was pretty good.
All in all a good dinner in a nice buzzy restaurant.
However, service was average.
When we arrived the waiter tried to seat us at the worst table I have ever seen in a restaurant - literally underneath people's coats! We had booked earlier that day...
It should not be a table.
When I asked for a different table we received a 'I can't really be bothered and I am doing you a huge favour' shrug and eventually got a table we could sit at.
Thankfully this waiter soon forgot about us and was replaced with a chatty and friendly girl and things really looked up.
Other waiter not at all interested in customers.
No one asked us how the food was - so in answer to their non-existent question, 'it was pretty good', but not great.
Nice evening though - and cheap and rough house red!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balthazar's Keuken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Balthazar's Keuken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing