We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If steak is your thing go here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbeque Castell

Barbeque Castell
Ranked #100 of 3,723 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If steak is your thing go here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Lovely place on the canal , great food great service. Reserve a table at the bar or you eat on a board on your lap which is also worth it for the food . Closer to the canal than on the Internet map really great place

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    182
    45
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a great restaurant with fantastic food but be prepared to eat your food on your lap as there are no tables! The menu is very simple but we had the best steak ever with a yummy salad and baked potato. The meat is perfectly cooked and sides delicious. Service was unfortunately quite poor as we had to ask three times for water and had to ask each time for more drinks. But a great place to go for well cooked meat and a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pink789TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eating on your knees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I am sure that the food at this restaurant deserves a much higher rating (it certainly looked great) but if you don't want to sit and eat your dinner from a thick wooden board balanced on your knees whilst seated on a sofa, this isn't the place for you. It was very buzzy and seemed hugely popular but it wasn't for us, given the above. Our fault, not theirs ... But be warned!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nessie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic steak served on a tray!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

One of those restaurants that gives nothing away from the outside. If I hadn't seen some good reviews on here I would have seriously missed out. It is a great place with fantastic food and it was a suprising twist to be taken to huge sofa around an open fireplace and informed we are on the 1st two cushions. I would seriously suggest to book though. As we were stood in the entrance 3 groups got turned away informing of a 2 hour wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great food, fantastic atmosphere, lovely staff!
I've only written a review because the Barbeque Castell deserves it....
On a more selfish note it's somewhere you would like to keep to yourself... It's a little gem!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank driftwood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbeque Castell also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Barbeque Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing