We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant - No burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burger's Patio

Burger's Patio
Ranked #886 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$27
Cuisines: European, Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: Restaurant in the centre of Amsterdam Burgers Patio Restaurant is renowned in the Jordaan for its cosy atmosphere and its emphasis on providing quality affordable food and friendly service. Established in 1984 in the premises of former butcher 'Burger', our restaurant is the perfect setting to enjoy an excellent meal in an open and sociable atmosphere. French Italian cuisine Offering modern French-Italian cuisine with international accents, our dishes are made with free-range meat, ecologically responsible seafood and seasonal produce. Everything from our bread to our "bonbon" chocolates is house made. Our menu provides at least two vegetarian starter and main course options and a broad selection of organic wines. Romantic outside dining During the summer our patio is an oasis of Mediterranean tranquillity within the city centre of Amsterdam where you can dine underneath grape vines, passion plants and the starry sky. Our front terrace provides tables for two or four with a wonderful view of the Westerkerk tower
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant - No burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place was our first stops for dinner in Amsterdam, and we found it on a lovely street in a fantastic neighborhood! Initially, we decided against the place purely based on its name, but after a walk up and down the street and a look at the menu, we decided to give it a try. We are SO GLAD that we did because the service and the food was excellent. The servers were incredibly kind and knowledgeable. This was a n excellent experience and it is highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    57
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No burgers on the menu, thank goodness.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I visited Burgers Patio on a Thursday night after seeing it highlighted for Al Fresco dining in a local magazine. We got to the restaurant around 6:30 and were the first ones there, so we got our pick of tables on the back patio. It was quaint and somewhat charming, but not as fantastic as expected based on the article.

The service was super-friendly and attentive, the fresh baked bread heavenly and I was pleased to hear that everything "from the bread to the bons-bons" was homemade. My husband had a goat cheese salad as a starter, while I had the Wonton, gamba (shrimp) cake, avocado, lime spring onion starter. Both were delicious! We ordered the same entree -- the risotto made with black rice. It was interesting, but a bit too heavy and salty. We shared the Pavlova for dessert, which was a lovely way to end the meal.

Great wine selections at reasonable prices. Overall, we enjoyed it, and it was a nice departure from the typical saucy Danish and Flemish food we encountered on our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 389HeidiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We went here on a sunday night with some friends and it wasn't really busy but we did make reservations before hand. The restaurant catered for english speaking tourist by providing us with a english menu and our dutch friends with a dutch menu. Service was slow and it took well over an hour for our mains to come out. Food was average, really over priced as the servings were very small. Just a side note - they don't make burgers, it means 'citizen' in Dutch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank on_high_heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what we expected..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Came here late one Friday night ..don't expect burgers! The menu is very limited and we waited for 45 mins for our food I had to go and ask in the end. When the food did come it was lovely but it took it away with the long wait . Don't think we would return when we go back to Amsterdam..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value, at very nice local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our food and experience at Burger's Patio recently. A very nice local establishment, with a lot of well-prepared fresh dishes. Atmosphere and quality of food makes this well worth a visit. Service was a bit slow, even for local standards, but the place was slammed later in the evening. However, I will say that the staff was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burger's Patio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Burger's Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing