We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food & Service”
Review of Beulings

Beulings
Ranked #557 of 3,806 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$55
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Beulings is tiny, but serving food with great allure. The kitchen is daring and adventurous and with knowledge of the classics. All the products are made in our own kitchen. We go far and maybe even a bit beyond.
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Service”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Visited Beulings as a group of four and opted for the surprise tasting menu, we lost count of the courses we were served, but each and every one was presented and tasted fantastic.

Each course was presented to us at the table by the chef who gave us a description of what we were about to enjoy.

This is run by a husband and wife team and together they run a very efficient and attentive restaurant, which if your visiting Amsterdam you really should try and experience.



Helpful?
1 Thank JustinRTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    22
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Came here with friends and we were warmly greeted. We all chose the surprise tasting menu and were not disappointed. Everything was explained as we went along; the staff clearly enjoy making the whole evening a pleasant experience for their customers. The food was simply stunning. Before we realised it we had spent more than 4 hours in the lovely atmosphere of this cosy restaurant. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobatKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dinner @ Beulings Amsterdam on 13Apr2014”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

had a beautiful dinner at beulings in amsterdam on 13.4.2014. most pleasant start to my amsterdam/como/cinque terre/milan vacationing 13-24apr2014.

this was the best meal i had during the trip, and that’s when i had several other really great meals at amsterdam, como, cinque terre. not too bad at milan too.

was deciding among beulings, bussia & bridges in amsterdam. bridges (1 michelin star at sofitel the grand), bussia & beulings all had raving tripadvisor reviews. bussia is modern fine italian & we were spending 8 subsequent days in italy, bridges is a bit more high brow, so we decided on the more casual, family-run beulings (husband & wife team i think, bas bont & lisja hu). and the food was simply outstanding!

we had a complimentary nibble platter plus some cheese balls. platter had anchovies (very similar to good ikan bilis!), chosrizo (nice) & caviar on something, cannot recall. all very nice.

the bread was great too. we ate up everything!

the amuse bouche was a carrot soup. it was excellent soup, very smooth, with the sour cream?? taking off the sharp taste of carrots.

#1 the fish (arctic char??) ceviche was delicious, very pretty artisan presentation & very sweet like a good sashimi. the salad & lady fingers added nice texture & taste.

my daughter took lisja’s recommendations – budels beer, an organic beer from south of amsterdam. it was light & fragrant, very good beer for euro3.50. we asked but could not find it in other cafes so perhaps its more boutique than popular brew.

#2 we were served an excellent quail. i told lisja it was much like the sous vide bresse pigeon at jaan, my favourite restaurant in singapore. this was quite exquisite, very tender juicy breast & the leg too was not dry & sinewy.

#3 the pasta was super! the large fleshy oyster was excellent. the pasta was not quite al dente & yet quite perfect in texture & the slight pickled mildly sour vegetables combined wonderfully. my wife & daughter loved this dish!

#4 the halibut?? was great, tasty. all the helpings including this one were quite good size.

#5 my daughter & i had the beef. it was done perfectly, rare & sweet, and the potato & pumpkin mash were great!

the petit four were pretty standard. macaron was too sweet i thought, chocolates usual, the madeleines & cakes were nice.

it was a small place with maybe 10 tables, one 2pax table was not occupied. place was cosy, service was attentive, friendly, efficient, casual. there was only lisja & 1 other server, but the chefs in the kitchen including bas all served the tables. lisja was busy but not rushed when serving the table & chatted quite a bit with the diners. the others too.

the price came to euro178. we had two 5-course at euro55 & one 4-course at euro45 plus water (euro9.75-kind of ex but maybe it was like cover charge or service), 2 glasses of wine & a beer. anyway we rounded it to euro200.

it was an very pleasant, relaxed & throughly enjoyable dinner for us, definitely a place i will come next time i am in amsterdam.

see chefquak.com for detailed reviews & photos

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefquak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A venerable Dutch master”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great restaurant. Partnership between chef and front of house. Intimate setting in city centre.
Menu suprise with wine per course, all impeccable. Lost count of the courses and amuse bouche, all delightful.
Relaxed atmosphere and friendly service, great wines and full of people clearly enjoying the food.
Go there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoudhurstMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Meal to remember”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Definitely in our top-10 all time. There is no set menu, it is what is fresh and seasonal today. We opted for the 7 course chefs everything today menu. Started with 3 variations of amuse before the main courses. Four courses matched white wine, two red, then desert. The fois gras with caramelized top and mandoline sliced apple was sublime. The main courses delivered an array of tastes from sea to land. The combinations of food are plated on varied color plates or slate. The wine list is small and well chosen for any budget. Matching wines to the courses can be arranged. There is a well stocked array of brandies and we had the 14-year old Calvados for post-desert. Dining is a 3+ hour experience and you will savor each course. Pacing between courses is well done as the three chefs do the prep, cooking and sometimes delivery. Seating is very comfortable and tables well spaced. There are under 20 seats so you need to book in advance. Service is excellent, multi-lingual and they interact with the chefs to meet your needs. There is a chef's table close to the kitchen so you can watch the action and interact. For a meal to remember in Amsterdam, this is it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beulings also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Beulings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing