We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bet Italian in Amaterdam”
Review of Casa di David

Casa di David
Reserve with
Casa di David is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #242 of 3,806 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bet Italian in Amaterdam”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

You walk into this old style Italian restaurant to a hint of a smell of truffles. The pizzas are thin based and made with flair by the chef in the open kitchen who shapes them for you - he made my kids a heart and a butterfly. Great wine selection. Amazing fresh salads. Overall an unforgettable experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    340
    121
    55
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian Truffles”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The view of the Single canal from a 2nd floor window table set the stage for a wonderful meal. The large menu arrived and we quickly nicknamed it the 'Magna Carta'. After several minutes perusing the list of great dishes we had made our selection. The vegetable soup was not what I was expecting. A puree of a variety of green vegetables that was a bit too 'fresh' and needed salt. I came to learn most soups in Amsterdam were pureed, where I was looking for broth. Oh well. The Truffle & Asparagus Tagloilini was divine! My husband enjoyed his meal of a seafood soup followed by an arrabiata pasta. Dessert was a wonderful polenta cake. What an indulgent night! Yum!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PGYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Service”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We found this little gem of a restaurant whilst walking to our hotel, it's a few minutes walk from the centre and can also be easily reached by the tram.

It has an authentic Italian atmosphere, the staff are attentive and helpful with the menu and wine choices.

The portion sizes are good and the food is served hot and fresh on warmed plates.

The centre piece of the ground floor is a wood burning pizza oven, with the pizzas made to order, but don't be fooled into thinking this is just another pizza place, the menu has all the Italian staple items on as well as some house specialities.

The restaurant always seemed to be busy when passing so I would recommend booking.

Helpful?
Thank JustinRTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Gracious service; excellent food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our hotel made the reservation for us since many other places were booked up, and we had just recently arrived in Amsterdam. We were given a quiet table at the back with a great view of the pizza-maker and oven, and the manual dumbwaiter to the second floor. Servers spoke Dutch, English and their native Italian, and who knows what else, and were friendly and attentive. The food, particularly our main dishes (scallops in a "sugo di zucca" with slices of truffle (!), and branzino - sea bass - with thinly sliced potatoes on top. The wine we chose (a Vermentino) suited the food perfectly, and the dessert (millefoglia with cherries) was super. We already made reservations to return again before we leave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StefanoSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our hotel recommended to us. It was not busy when we went. Service was very good and the food even better. Nice atmosphere - hotel said to sit in a "window seat" on the canal but they were all taken - very few tables in this area. We had a lovely dinner and good inexpensive wine. All in all, would recommend it to locals and travelers. Someone from Amsterdam said we should have gone upstairs for dining - good views. We didn't realize there was an upstairs dining area. Next time.....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagsATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa di David also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Casa di David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing