We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FunFunFun!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sundeck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundeck
Fully equipped kitchen Street view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Sundeck
Fully equipped kitchen
Street view
Living with TV and stereo
Large sofa
Master bedroom, king size double bed
Second bedroom with king size double bed
Third bedroom with two single beds
Third bedroom, 2 single beds
Master bathroom, next to first bedroom with bath
Second bathroom
Second bathroom
Third bathroom
Third bathroom
Entrance and front of the ship
Entrance
View
Neighborhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kingosaab...
Jacksonville, Illinois
1 review
“FunFunFun!”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Amsterdam on a boat overlooking the Amstel Canal with friends is the best. Five adults with plenty of room, excellent accommodations, breath taking views and great location. Interesting boat history. You cannot go wrong. Thank you to Mariette! We loved our week in Amsterdam!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thanks for being lovely guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debkatz
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection on the Amstel”
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our time on the Generaal Praag made my husband’s 40th bday so incredibly memorable. The beds were comfortable, the space was clean and modern, and it was a great place to chill and watch the boats all day from the deck. The neighborhood was great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2018
I am so glad to hear you had a good time. Thanks for coming, hope to see you back on the next anniversary :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljeddinge...
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
“Awesome Houseboat”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This houseboat has been totally renovated and updated. The kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms are modern and very clean. There were 5 of us and we totally enjoyed our time here. We made breakfast in the morning and hung out on the deck every evening. The view is wonderful! The houseboat is also close to markets and a tram stop. We used public transportation daily as Amsterdam is a big city and most attractions are too far to walk to.
Mariette was there to welcome us with cold water and a bottle of wine in the refrigerator! The weather was extremely warm while we were there and she provided each of us a fan for our bedrooms. She even had fresh cut flowers on the table - so lovely.
I would highly recommend staying here. We stayed at 4 different apartments during our vacation and this was by far the best! The experience of staying on a houseboat was awesome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Thanks dear! It was my pleasure to host you and I am very happy you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinChapma...
Bunbury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Real Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My cousin and I stayed on Mariette’s houseboat accomodation for 6 nights and loved it!
Canals and houseboats are so Amsterdam that it was great to immerse ourselves in the experience. The houseboat is out of touristy Amsterdam, but close to the wonderful Amsterdam trams, and shops.
The layout of the apartment is great, with a bedroom in the prow of the boat!
The bathrooms are wonderful and the underfloor heating is a dream. Mariette is a lovely, friendly host, she made a point of coming and saying hello to me as I wasn’t able to check in with my cousin.
Oh yes and there’s a Nespresso machine!! Bliss!
The only two things that were less than perfect was the dim lighting in the lounge and kitchen. Mariette changed the light bulbs in the lounge room for us, but the kitchen was still very dim. The other thing is that I’m no fly weight so ended up sleeping in the crack between the mattresses in the front bedroom, I ended up moving to one of the single beds which was very comfy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Thanks darling! It was good to have you two here. I will have a look at the lighting, thanks for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hatty-mta
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb place to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Beautifully appointed houseboat - exactly as described. Made a perfect base for a few days in Amsterdam - just out of the hustle and bustle - but within easy reach of the tram link only a few minutes walk away. A proper home from home. Mariette met us on arrival and showed us round the accommodation and gave us lots of local advice. Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank you for being our superb guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryBlan...
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the only way to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

As all of 6 of us arrived and opened the door to this charming boat house we were blown away by how truly amazing it was. The photos do not do justice so we hadn't expected it to look as exceptional as it did. The sunken lounge and split level design made it more open and roomy and so even though we were a large group we never felt cramped or in each others pockets. Laundry facilities on site with the best dryer you will probably come across that dried all our clothes in no time. Kitchen facilities, tea, coffee and premium appliances available. The location was not too far or too close to city centre so we hired backs from owner and cruised on bikes the whole time. Supermarket and restaurants just 5min bike ride away. Everything was easy from our arrival. The outdoor area allowed to relax and take in the scenery that Amsterdam is all about. We are so, so glad we took the chance on this, no regrets at all. Would do it again without a second thought. Mariette was so helpful and offered us drinks and food as our flight had been delayed by 8 hours and we didn't get in till midnight. She was kind enough to just leave us keys so we could make our own way in. Thanks Mariette for making our holiday even more memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Absolutely the most lovely guests one can imagine :-)
Hope to see you back sometime and thanks for coming!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0y822
Los Gatos, California
1 review
“This place is a gem!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The houseboat is such a clean, comfortable and unique venue to spend family time and explore Amsterdam. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay while visiting our son studying abroad. Easy walk to De Pijp neighborhood, easy public transport to other areas and even easy to catch Uber. The beds are quite comfortable too! Mariette is most welcoming and gracious, you will love this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
You were also quite precious guests :-)
Thanks for staying with us and please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing