We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How big was the rat?”
Review of Hotel Utopia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Utopia
Ranked #296 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2013

It's by far the worst hostel I've ever been.

I completely agree with the comment below... People running the service were stoned everyday!

Pictures in here don't resemble at all with reality. I guess the walls were white when that 'hostel' was built, but now they're yellow/brown coloured. Also, there was a 'toilet' inside the room, without a door, without light and with a huge locker that occupied the whole space. Behind that locker the wall was completele moldy, and I guess it was the place were the rats live during the day.

RATS?????? While we were sleeping one of us woke up and warned us about some strange noises. We turned on the lights and saw 2 or 3 mice running around!!
The morning after we woke up and reported to the service, instead of being surprise by the existance of those animals on their hostel they just asked us: But WHICH KIND OF RAT? HOW BIG WERE THEY?
Come on, they transmit diseases... The only answer we got was: 'it is pretty normal mice living in houses in Amsterdam'. After that thew gave us back the money for the following days (but not for the night we had already spent with the rats) and left.

Fortunately we found another hostel nearby, Aroza, which was clean, had no rats, cheaper, nicer staff and breakfast included!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeresiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Utopia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

I summary about this hotel if you are looking for a place where to stay is, keep looking, don't go to this hotel... And here is why:

- The hotel is a 'coffee shop' (name for places selling weed in Amsterdam. this means you get stoned people at every hour of the day at the entrance of the place.
- Rooms aren't properly clean. All they do is to 'change' the sheets of your bed I was disgusted of setting foot on that floor.
- Poor customer service: people running the store are stoned everyday. Ask for anything and is a lottery the type of response you will get.
- Bedbugs: rooms are filled with them. Our stuff got polluted with this pest and we are still trying to get rid of it.
- Dirty bathrooms.
- Bad circulation of air (and the only air you get is smoke from people getting high).
- Extremely thin walls... You will hear everything from the people next door at every hour.
- Extremely hard beds.... erm, I should call it bed bugs nests.
- They don't offer to hold your bags at the checkout (which is common among most hostels) so you are forced to go to the train station to rent a locker, rising the total price for the room.

Seriously, look for a different place. This one competes with the worst hostel of Europe.

Room Tip: There is no good room with this hostel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodrigoelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

its clean, close to centrum, have a nice coffe shop and great weed. we stay in a double room, just above the cafe shop. price was fare, cofees and weed are good, it looks like a local cafe than a touristic one. enjoy..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erdal_U280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

so Bad, i wouldnt recommend this to anyone.
im booked in for 3 days, on the first night i nearly broke my neck slipping on the stairs, and it stinks all through the hostel.
i thought it might just be the hallway but no, the rooms are dirty (only the bed sheets are clean), warnings of rats and mice in the ceiling on the wall (dated to within a few weeks earlier). when i sat on my the bed i imediatly began to feel itchy. unfortuntely i cant give it a lower rating or i would,
within about 20 minutes i wanted to pack up and move to one of the other hostels/hotel nearby which looked much better.
i was with freinds though and they just couldn't afford to move out after paying for the entire stay upfront, our room had no lockers of any sort so no-one felt safe leaving anything.
only good point is its location 5-10 minutes from central station and anbout 5 minutes to the main square and the redllight. (if thats what your in AMS for).

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, we asked to see another room looked even worse. i dont have a photo, but h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirsparky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Was visiting for 5 days in october. Stayed in private double room with shared bathroom. It actually turned out to be a room with to separate beds, which was hard to combined together. It blocked the path to the exit.

Cons:
BED BUGS DETECTED!!!
No kitchen
Tiny winding stair - so hard to get with the luggage to any floor.
Very cold (was there in october)

Pro:
Friendly stuff & good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank KatjaBelkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I was in Amsterdam for two nights on my way to Spain. It was me and a buddy and we were backpacking Europe without any real plan. We arrived in Amsterdam with no place to stay and this was the only Hostel that had rooms. It was a little overpriced for what we got but it was an ok place to stay. The beds were clean but the rest of the place really wasn't.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The major plus of this hostel is that it was located very close to both the train station and the main square of Amsterdam, so it was possible to get by on foot. It is above a "coffee shop" so if the smell of weed bothers you, I would recommend looking elsewhere as it was quite strong throughout the hostel. The beds are very basic, the rooms are cramped(like many hostels). If you just want a place to rest your head after a night out, this is a good choice, but it is certainly not luxury accommodation by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiCo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Hotel Isis
#260 of 337 in Amsterdam
158 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#165 of 337 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#244 of 337 in Amsterdam
19 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#274 of 337 in Amsterdam
110 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#108 of 337 in Amsterdam
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utopia

Address: NZ Voorburgwal 132, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £33 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing