We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just no”
Review of Hotel Utopia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Utopia
Ranked #294 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just no”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I paid £44 to stay in a (poorly) converted bathroom - ie. a bath had been ripped out and a bed is now in its place. Tiles and sink still included.

The walls are so incredibly thin I got woken up in the middle of the night by next door flicking their light switch on and off.

You have to walk down two flights of stairs to find a toilet with a sink.

If, however, you do like to live life on the dangerous side than this may well be the hostel for you as, in the event of a fire, you will have to navigate your way down about 3 flights of carpeted ladders ("stairs") in the hope of getting out alive.

Stoned man in the cafe was reasonably friendly, though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rutheliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    17
    11
    51
See reviews for
2
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Guy who checked us in was very rude and stoned, stairs to room were vertical and tiny, rooms are tiny and beds are tiny. Bunk beds with no ladders or safety bars to prevent you falling. Showers were filthy with one shower, toilet and sink between 8!! Got bites from insects whilst sleeping here. Wifi doesn't work upstairs and the whole rooms are just dirty and never cleaned. I don't expect much but this was really taking the mick. They charge you deposits for everything and then have awful opening hours in the little smelly Cafe so you have to wait around until 6pm to get money back for key... Yes they charge you for having the key?!?!?! DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY... You'd appreciate sleeping in a fast food restaurant more! Would give it no stars if possble

Room Tip: Don't slept here ,... Best tip ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked the Hostel for one night after the King's day holiday.
It was very cheap and close to the central station in a good neighborhood.
However, the day after I noticed plenty bedbug bites all over my body. Still afraid I brough some bedbugs with me back to Germany - nightmare!!
Do not stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I cant offer any opinion on the hotel but Utopia's coffeeshop is a nice place to spend some time. The location couldn't be any better. Theres a couple of tables outside, perfect for when the suns out. Utopia always has excellent products in stock and I have always received good service from the staff. Ingi in particular is very welcoming and patient with her customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The location is good.
But the service is awful and confusing. They arranged tree people for the same bed. We paid for a 6 people's room, but instead we've got a eight people room, with no cleaned sheets.
Misteriously some things were missing after the daily cleaning of the room
You should spend more money and stay in a better place

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Juliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I have NO IDEA what ppl are talking about with this HOSTEL !!
Me and my 2 mates stayed in room 1 and had no problems with so called rats and mice and there was food available EVERY night for them !
I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a good value place to stay with a good coffeeshop added :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CaNaBiiSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My locker was broken into, it was locked but the lock broken with ease, two reception members seemed bothered for the disruption to their smoke. The camera security video did not show a view of the lockers, nor was it clear how someone was able to get into a locked room when only three beds were taken.

Neighborhood is dodgy, though it seems convenient online before you arrive. Better to make the effort to find your way to another hostel, especially if you want to leave anything in your room.

The morning reception workers are cool and friendly, but the ones with less responsibility seem to have some attitude issues. Price appears low, but there are other places with similar or lower prices that offer more.

Do not rely on that place to keep your gear secure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltrain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 369 in Amsterdam
187 reviews
Hotel Isis
#256 of 336 in Amsterdam
155 reviews
Vondelpark
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
Las Vegas Bed and Breakfast
#246 of 336 in Amsterdam
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#166 of 336 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
De Pijp
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#270 of 336 in Amsterdam
108 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#108 of 336 in Amsterdam
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utopia

Property: Hotel Utopia
Address: NZ Voorburgwal 132, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Utopia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing