We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$479
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$400
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
109
17
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorthe ground floorjordaan areahome from homecomfortable king size bedanne frank's houseown bathroomjust round the cornerthe breakfast areaminute walkspent nightswalked everywherebars and restaurantscity centrewithin walking distancecentral stationexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Wonderful quaint but modern accommodation, quiet, safe, pretty area, would strongly recommend this to all.

We walked every where, 15 mins from Central Station, only 5mins to Anne Frank museum.
Other reviews have covered it perfectly so will say no more.
Thanks Frank.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with steep stairs then ask for the ground floor. (but also did not visit the Anne Frank house) These are traditional Canal Houses very quaint
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After searching a number or websites for accommodation in Amsterdam I chose to stay at Westviolet due to the excellent reviews and the location. Booking via their own website is quick and easy.

Having previously stayed in a modern hotel right in the city centre, I wanted to try something a little more traditional which both Westviolet and Jordaan proved to be.

The B&B location was ideal, being a short tram ride and walk from the Centraal Station. Jordaan is a fascinating area to visit with some great architecture, cafés, restaurants ( Seasons was first class ), book shops and galleries. It felt friendly, relaxed and safe.

As for the accommodation itself - I couldn't fault it. I was staying in the ground floor section which was nicely self contained from the other floors. The decor was modern and looked fresh. The furniture was an eclectic mix of new and antique whilst the large double bed was very, very comfortable. The room was extremely clean, so to was the en-suite which is equipped with a shower and WC. Plenty of hot water and plenty of towels available. The sink is located in the main room which is a little unconventional but not inconvenient. The place has character and charm.

Breakfast was available in the first floor kitchen - a light and airy room at the front of the building - again, an extremely clean area to eat in, with all mod cons. There was a great selection of cereals, juices, breads, preserves, tea, coffee and a well stocked fridge. All the kitchen facilities are shared with the other guests ( there is another guest room on the first floor ) and the Argentinian couple who were also staying there made breakfast both interesting and entertaining.

As for the host, what can I say ! Frank was a mine of information when it came to planning the days events. He was a charming and attentive host - always appeared unobtrusively during breakfast for a chat ( accompanied more often than not by his little canine companion ) to ensure that everything was going well. Very much the right man, with the right manner, in the right job.....

I don't usually post long reviews but feel the need to on this occasion as Westviolet has to be one of the best B&B's that I have had the pleasure to stay in. The other reviews say it all.

Looking forward to a return visit....

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We picked this B&B because of the great reviews online. We can't add anything else to the first rate comments already recorded except to say that it is all true! Frank is a very natural and welcoming host who offers first rate accommodation and hospitality. A truly lovely place to stay in a very safe and hip area. For places to eat just around the corner, check out Los Pilones and the Barking Fish for cherry beer and a great atmosphere. Frank even fixed the weather for us!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, the one upstairs is accessed by steep stairs and next door to guest kitchen, feels more like an apartment.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Where do I begin? From the moment we arrived, Frank made us so welcome. There are two rooms at the property and both are beautifully presented. Unlimited hot hot water, which is great after a day pounding the streets of Amsterdam.

The West Violet is located in a perfect, quiet location for visiting all the attractions and there are excellent restaurants, cafés and bars within a minute's walk. We were spoilt for choice in the evenings to decide where to eat. Fortunately enough Frank was on hand to offer advice and recommendations.

The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to leave it. Our room was really peaceful and had a lovely little courtyard garden, where you could hear the church bells chime. It was bliss!

My husband and I made good use of Frank's kitchen, which was always well stocked and Frank catered for our every need. We met some lovely guests from all over the world during our stay.

My husband and I have visited Amsterdam on several occasions and have opted for hotels. Never again after meeting Frank and his wee dog Lara Luna (who is the cutest little dog I have ever had the pleasure to meet). Frank's welcome and hospitality made us feel that we were visiting a close friend, however he didn't intrude at any time and was the soul of discretion. It was great to have a chat back and forth and Frank is really knowledgable, funny and interesting and our time at the West Violet flew by. We were really sorry to leave after our five day stay.

If you are thinking about booking the West Violet, I would recommend that you contact Frank direct as you get better rates than making your reservation through booking.com. His website is info@westviolet.nl and he usually responds immediately. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Largs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We loved Amsterdam and also going home to a welcoming West Violet each evening. The quiet, yet central location made it ideal and we walked almost everywhere as everything, including Central Station and the main museums and galleries were under a half hour walk. The B&B is on a quiet pedestrian side street, a minute's walk from a canal and an outdoor market. Lots of restaurants nearby. Frank House is just up the canal a block or two, where a canal boat stop can also be found.
Our host made us feel very welcome, was readily available, yet didn't intrude and allowed us to prepare what we wished at leisure in the cheerful, well-appointed breakfast room. He also got my husband prompt medical attention when he needed it, which was much appreciated. Our room was clean and very spacious and well equipped, with a comfortable bed. We loved coming home after a day of exploring and enjoying a glass of wine on our little balcony overlooking the central garden. We would have loved to have extended our stay, and recommend B&B West Violet.

Room Tip: The two rooms are both excellent: one adjacent to the breakfast room upstairs with a balcony, the other beside the front door with a patio. Both involve climbing a flight of narrow stairs. Not suitable for someone having serious walking difficulties. For everyone else - perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews