We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, what can I say.”

Los Pilones Cantina Mexico
Ranked #499 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Los Pilones was founded by three Mexican brothers who settled in Amsterdam in 2001. Their concept was to bring the REAL taste of traditional Mexican to Holland, using the best imported Mexican ingredients such as their own brand of salsas, chillis and tequila. No burritos or hard shell tacos can be found on the menu, just simple, authentic Mex-Mex cuisine. After 10 successful years in Amsterdam, the two Los Pilones' restaurants have developed into bright and bustling local hot-spots, attracting tourists and visitors from all over the world.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, what can I say.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

3 days in amsterdam and we are here two of them days. (Just had to go back) My partner and I travel a lot and food is our passion. There is nothing that could have been improved, you MUST eat here if you are going to amsterdam. There are 3 but We ate at the one near the red light district. Portion sizes are generous, cocktails were fresh and lovely. If I could score it more I would.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    143
    32
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Mexican in Holland”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

To be honest, I was so hungry by the time that we got here that I could have eaten the furniture and been happy BUT as it turns out, I had the tacos and they were delicious! The beer was cold and the service was great, as was the atmosphere. I was quite pleasantly surprised to have such a good meal as my son, who lives in Amsterdam, states that the food has a long way to go. None of us were disappointed with Los Pilones!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eatracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I'm from Texas so I know a little something about Mexican food. This place is the real deal! No comparison to any other so-called Mexican places in Amsterdam area. Food is excellent, drinks are excellent... try the margaritas, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Londres
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a good time in los Pilones”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I lived in Mexico for a year and I find the real taste of Mexican food in Los Pilones.
It is a great place to meet up with friends and drink too much of their amazing Margaritas.
Just note it is a little pricey for tacos!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmelia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real mexican food. Not TEX_MEX”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I'm mexican. This is the only place outside of México I've ever come across with where actual mexican food is served. With the ingredients and dishes mexicans actually eat and love. Excellent service, nice atmosphere. I recommend the choriqueso and enchiladas con mole ¡Truly delicioso! :D

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Pilones Cantina Mexico also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Los Pilones Cantina Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing