We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better restaurants in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guadalupe

Guadalupe
Reserve with
Guadalupe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,107 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much better restaurants in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We ate here last week - my wife ordered the chicken enchiladas and I had the beef nachos. It was average at best. I've made better Mexican food at home myself. Also I can't really understand how anywhere can charge 7 euros for a diet coke. The bill came to about 55 euros for a shared starter, two mains and two drinks. We had sat outside but the views weren't particularly scenic. I couldn't recommend this restaurant as there are many better places to eat in Amsterdam,

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    36
    35
    25
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worst dining experience in a long time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Desperate for dinner we walked into here as it was on the main strip. When we sat down I decided to look it up on trip advisor and was horrified to see the scathing reviews. Sadly by this point our group of 6 were already committed to the experience.

I actually felt sorry for the English waitress given she was trying hard but clearly had no idea what she was doing. The only thing that made her look good was the waiter who actually served our steaks and had somehow managed to have never seen a steak before his life and just dumped them on the table openly admitting to having no clue as to which steak was what. After my fellow diners and I worked out what was which we proceeded to eat what was a very mediocre meal which for the price we could have done so much better elsewhere.

There are many great restaurants in Amsterdam, this is not one of them..

Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive, bad service & bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ate nachos and quesadillas that probably came from the microwave. Not really good nachos (open a DORITOS bag and add some guacamole) and the quesadillas were 2 pieces of bread from the supermarket with a little bit of cheese.
There was a really really rude waitress. The space for the terrace is that small that the waiters can't serve freely the tables and make you move your chair (rudelly) to pass.
And about the price... REALLY EXPENSIVE.
I will not recomment this place to enybody.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marulita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't eat here for breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely table over looking the river on a nice sunny morning. The breakfasts are an ok but not cheap price by Amsterdam standards and so we expected it to be good. We were very disappointed. Sausages were tinned frankfurters, mushrooms were tinned, there was one small thin slice of bacon, eggs were over cooked, beans were dry on the Dutch, the cheese and ham are both cheap and the orange juice was from a carton.

Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were travelling with a friend, who's wife passed away last year. I felt drawn in because of Terri's love of Our Lady of Guadalupe. Also, go figure, Mexican in Amsterdam. Our service was excellent and food tasty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dovecanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guadalupe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing