We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Chloe L
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Anne was a fabulous host, was easy to contact if we needed help and gave us lots of advice in terms of where we should go during our visit. The location of the property was very central, 2 minute walk from Anne frank's house, 10 minute walk from centre, 15 minute walk from nightclub main strip. The apartment has a very comfortable double bed, a sauna, free wifi, a clean bathroom with a huge bath, and a little door between the bedroom and bathroom so you can choose whether or not you want the rooms to be connected. For this reason I would advice that you have to be comfortable with who you are going with. The bathroom can be quite noisy after flushing the chain or unplugging the bath but this didn't bother us at all. The location of the property is very peaceful at night. The room doesn't have a TV however it does have a great sound system with an aux lead (and who needs a tv in the middle of amsterdam?!). The kitchen had typical facilities such as a kettle, toaster, oven, and fridge. The host even left us tea bags, sugar and oil to cook with. Anne was a very relaxed host- didn't mind us playing music or smoking a joint in the room. The garden is also very beautiful, lovely to sit and eat/drink/smoke in. We wish we had stayed for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sauna
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellerooB...
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and wonderful , want to live there”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment was perfect!
Had everything you needed from bath towels to tea bags and speakers.
Was with in walking distance of everywhere and we made breakfast and lunch at home , the supermarket is down the road.
We felt at home the whole time and the host Anne-Marie was lovely and very helpful and lovely.
Would recommend this highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness and location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trae92
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location, wonderful host!”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Superb stay for 5 nights at Prinsengracht 413, Anne M was a wonderful host. Lovely eclectic apartment with plenty of privacy and on the same street as Anne Franks House. Eateries, bars and museums all within close walking distance make this a prime location, it is also tremendously easy to get there from the airport.
Try and check out her book as well, a brilliant and daring documentation of her subject compiled with real class and honesty.
Definitely will be returning again to stay whenever I come back to Amsterdam.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect reception, lovely people & nice place”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Excellent communication and organisation, lovely little apartment, the garden did it for me.
Would defo stop again, Thanks

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren201...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unusual place but loved it”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Canal Apartment is one of a kind. If you want something different than a normal hotel room, this is the place for you. It has a lovely eclectic style. Having your own kitchen space was really good as well. Anne is a lovely and welcoming host, any problems and she helped us straight away. I would only say so people know what to expect you need to be comfortable with the person you are staying with as the toilet is in the same room (its blocked off and has a curtain to close it over), the water is pumped so makes a noise when water is draining (was never an issue for us). The location is perfect just far enough that it is quiet, but just a 5 minute walk into Dam Square etc.. and the canal it is located on is beautiful. It has lovely cafes and restaurants a few doors down that we went to, so you have a lot of places to visit very close. All in all we loved it and when we are coming back we will be asking Anne to look after us again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thanks Lauren and when you come back you Will see no curtain anymore last week we made a door on bad/toilet .bye Ane Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming canal appartment”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Cosy, quiet and perfectly placed in walking distance from most popular parts of the city. This is not a place for those expecting the usual as this is a most unusual place. Quirky, quaint and full of character you will be immediately immersed in the spirit of Amsterdam.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely appartment in a beautiful area of Amsterdan. Anne made us very welcome on our visit last week. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing