We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast”

De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam South
Ranked #515 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

If you like to enjoy the breakfast outside of the hotel, this is a right place to go. We were there twice. Both experiences were great. Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Strongly recommend to book in advance to avoid disappointment. Our favorites eggs with bacon on the bread, Cafe late and glass of water. Total cost for couple 19.90 €. Enjoy it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mstrauchsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Small portions”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We went there for breakfast and found the portions a little too small, considering the price that they charge. Food quality is not bad. Nice atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We came here for lunch after visiting the museums, and had the combo platter with scones for pudding. The food was excellent especially the mackerel and the scones with big pots of jam. Service was very fast considering the cafe was almost full, and the staff were attentive. Nice decorations give this place a quaint cozy atmosphere, although maybe a little too cozy in places as the tables were fairly small and close together. The price was good for the quality of the food. I would definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Clarencia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quaint place for afternoon high tea”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My gal pals and i headed to the Bakkerswinkel in Amsterdam Zuid for afternoon high tea. I loved the shabby chic interior and the food was delicious. We easily spent a couple hours there enjoying our surroundings, the service and each others company. The variety of tea flavors was also a treat. I highly recommend for a rainy afternoon spent indoors!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best scones ever!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The scones are seriously good at De Bakkerswinkel. We went back twice for more! They're baked fresh (the main kitchen is also open for coffee on the corner) and were still warm. The coffee is delicious and a nice friendly atmosphere. Perfect!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam South also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Bakkerswinkel Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing