We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picture Perfect! Bring Your Camera”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ron and J...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect! Bring Your Camera”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This charming apartment is like Amsterdam--charming and unique. You get a front row seat viewing boats of all shapes and sizes float outside your windows on one of the city's many canals. At night the small bridge lights covert a cosmopolitan city into a magical wonderland. The apartment is close to restaurants, shops, grocery stores, etc. It's a short walk away from Central Station where you can hop on a tram to visit museums, etc. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Many people spoke English, but even if they didn't, a few hand signals worked perfectly. We ate breakfast at closeby De Vrouw met de BAARD--loved the food and the owners--derouwetdebaard@gmail.com.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyager17...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment with stunning views and perfect location”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Canal View apartment for 13 days and can highly recommend it. Everything was perfect. The views of the canal from the large windows were stunning and we spent many hours at the end of the day sipping a glass of wine and watching all the boats go past. The apartment itself was very well set up for a longer stay and our host Maarten even left a bottle of wine and some snacks to welcome us. He also had plenty of helpful advise. The Jordaan area where the apartment is located is one of the loveliest parts of Amsterdam. It was very quiet and peaceful but only a few minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town. There are also plenty of wonderful restaurants, cafes and interesting shops very close by. All the major tourist sites can be reached by foot and Anne Frank house is a 10 minute walk away. If we were lucky enough to visit Amsterdam again, we would definitely stay here!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamila P
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely view and friendly host”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This was our forth stay in Amsterdam in Jordan district in the last four years and we liked Canal View apartment very much. The location could not have been better, and the view is fantastic. From the moment we have booked the apartment, we felt like welcomed guests. Our every email and inquiry, have been responded to very quickly. The owner Maarten is a very friendly and kind man who lives in the same building, on the ground floor. We have even found a bottle of wine, soft drink and snacks in the apartment when we arrived. Maarten checked us in early, and explained all details about the accommodation. He also left a lot of useful information about the area, places to visit and shops. We had a lovely dinner in an Indonesian restaurant recommended by Maarten. The apartment has very comfy bed, open up sofa to relax on and enjoy the canal view and very well equipped kitchen. There is everything there that you may need during your stay. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Canal View apartment and have already booked it for 9 nights next year! Thank you to our wonderful host.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam67982...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like living in a painting”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment view is amazing and the location is close to everything. It is an easy walk to many sights, and if you want to go further, the central station for buses, trams and trains is just minutes away. The apartment is outfitted with quality bedding, towels and everything you need in the kitchen, even dishes for children. Enjoy your morning coffee while watching the bicycles and canal boats cruise by, or just walk one short block to bakeries, restaurants and shopping. And in the evening, watch the streetlights dance on the canal. Very romantic.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtcb67
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We just returned from spending nine fantastic nights in Amsterdam at Canal View. It is a well appointed, very comfortable apartment in a perfect location within the Western Canal Ring. The view of the canal is absolutely perfect. It is close to many great sights, shopping, and restaurants. It's a very quiet apartment, and a very comfortable sleep. And, not too far away is some of the best coffee we've ever had at "Screaming Beans." Maarten is a friendly host and answered any questions we had about the apartment and Amsterdam. If you want to experience life as a local, this is definitely a great place to stay. We highly recommend this apartment.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCAB09
2 reviews
“Lovely spacious apartment overlooking beautiful canal in a great location.”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just spent 7 days here on our first visit to Amsterdam. The apartment was great and in a really good location that allowed us to venture in all directions for sightseeing with most within walking distance. Would definitely recommend anyone visiting to stay here. Marten was very kind and everything we needed was here.

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christoph...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just as described, could not have found a better place to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Since I booked this apartment through Trip Advisor, they should know that this an authentic review. Maarten's pictures on TA show how the apartment looks.
Throughout the booking and traveling period Maarten always responded immediately to emails and other requests for information.
The apartment is beautiful and the view out the apartment is the classic Amsterdam view: the beautiful canal and always interesting canal traffic. The apartment is well equipped and it has the most important appliance: The Coffee Maker! and filters and Coffee!

We'd love to stay here again.
Right across the canal at Brouwersgracht 60 is the restaurant De Belhamel our best meal in Amsterdam. Great!!
Not only are you on one of the most picturesque canals in Amsterdam, but you are also a one minute walk away from one of the best shopping/restaurant streets in town Haarlemerstraat and its continuation Haarlemmerdijk.
1 Ibericus Amsterdam
Haarlemmerstraat 93,
Spanish Hams
This is the holy grail for Spanish hams. They are all here and lined up on the counter in holders. One of the most impressive sites I've ever seen. They also serve sandwiches with the less expensive but still excellent hams.
2 Abinish Haarlemerstraat117 perfect light supper. Chicken satay or merguez sausage and a salad. Very nice staff. They are open until every day 12:00- 21:30
3 Vlaamsch Broodhuys Haarlemmerstraat 108. Great bread and cake bakery. Best high tea we ever had.
4 Petit Gateau Haarlemmerstraat 80
Great concept, pretty small tarts
Love the way the bakery looked and a great concept. Perfect single portion serving. We had a chocolate and a lemon, but found them a little bland
5 Bistro Neuf Haarlemstraat 9. Obviously a very good restaurant but...
Pretty room, nice staff, Perfect bouillabaisse, great creme brûlée and raspberry sorbet, but I ordered the Salade Niçoise with swordfish and it was a huge disappointment. Salad was underdressed and when I asked for more dressing they brought some but it was tasteless. I wondered why the swordfish was so bad. Was it cooked a few days earlier and just warmed up? It tasted like nothing, gross.
Farther along on Haarlemerstraat and its continuation Haarlemmerdijk.
The supermarkets: Albert Hein Haarlemmerdijk 1
Marqt Haarlemmerstraat 165 · +31 20 820 8792
Drugstores: Etos Haarlemmerdijk 81- 85
and down the Herengracht
Drogisterij Het Heertje Herenstraat 7

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were on what the Europeans call the first floor. Which afforded us a ring side seat of the beautiful canal and all the boat traffic.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.