We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jose Ramon
Albacete, Spain

Mi Tribute to this Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Sept 2020via mobile
The 26th of September 2020 this hotel closed its doors due to the coronavirus pandemic. During almost 2 years this has been my home every other week. In every situation people there had made the most to try to fulfill any requirements I had, always with the best of their faces. I am deeply sorry the hotel is closing and people are losing their jobs. All my respects to all the staff and I hope I meet them in any other hotel in the near future.
Best of the best
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£107
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £107
  • Agoda.com
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £107
2.8 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£227
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £212
  • Expedia.com
    £253
2.9 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£147
  • Booking.com
    £225
  • Agoda.com
    £140
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£97
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £97
2.1 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£67
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Hotels.com
    £67
3.9 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
£112
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    £125
3.2 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
£54
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £57
  • Agoda.com
    £52
  • Vio.com
    £55
4.1 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
£310
  • Hotels.com
    £362
  • Agoda.com
    £237
  • Priceline
2.7 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £103
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • Vio.com
4.2 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Official Site
    £60
4.4 miles from Element Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
933
357
68
15
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
933
357
68
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heavenly bed zuid station small kitchenette business district great hotel long stay full kitchen longer stay minute walk public transportation city centre rooms are spacious home away from home yogurt modern hotel supermarket dishwasher
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2020

So this review is quite late after the fact (and certainly describes a pre-Covid adventure), but I would point out that in short, that my wife and I had certainly one of the most memorable stays in Amsterdam here. But let me get to my story...

So this tale actually occurred on 24th July 2019 which is a date that I will never forget. My wife and I had just been having a short break in Padua and Venice and we were on our return journey home via Schiphol airport. However, on that day, the airport suffered an "unprecedented" disaster and their fuel lines were down, meaning no planes could be refueled, and on that day, was one of KLM's worst days (at the time - even I could not have predicted the worldwide pandemic...). So all flights effectively grounded, KLM not having a clue as to what to tell all travellers to do, no plan as to what to do for all passengers as to where they should go or stay, and everyone to fend for themselves until the authorities could figure what to do. Sounds a bit like the early pandemic crisis days...

So my wife made a rush booking online for any hotel that had a room, and this hotel was (allegedly) one of them. But it was so difficult to know since internet connections kept crashing with everybody trying to do the same thing. We had a confirmation email and we joined the ridiculously long queue for a taxi. Now our flight should have taken off about 3pm local time, but we didn't get to the hotel until after 9pm because of all the fiasco at the airport.

We arrived at the check-in desk and were greeted by a charming and gracious Spanish woman (So sorry, forgot her name!) who had the unfortunate task of telling us that the computer systems had actually overloaded and had somehow accepted far too many online reservations than they had rooms available... That was a serious blow to us to have no room to stay, as there was nowhere else we could go, as the airport announcements had told us to leave (we later discovered that those that ignored that advice were offered makeshift beds for the night), and there were certainly no other hotels in the whole of Amsterdam who could put anyone up for the night. The lovely night manager even had the courtesy to ring a few hotels in the local area to see if there were any rooms. At this point, I will also point out that we were tired, angry and upset, but we could not direct our emotions at the lady since she did not cause any of this mess. With nowhere else to go, the night manager told us about a traveller who ended up arranging transport to go to Rotterdam to stay overnight, but there was absolutely no way that we would even consider doing that as that would mean even more hours wasted. However, what did brighten us up after such a horrendous day, was that the night manager allowed us to "hang about" in the lobby. There were quite large sofas here which we could lay down on for brief naps, but obviously not comfortable enough to properly sleep on (plus the lights were on, constant muzak, and of course, other guests moving around). We even got to see how spectacular the night manager was in dealing with other travellers like ourselves who had been stranded, and she dealt with some incredibly rude people - even we got agitated by some of them and tried to help the night manager, but she just took them in her stride.

We all got through the night, and by some miracle, I had managed to book some very expensive tickets for an early morning flight the next day, not really knowing if there would be a problem until we tried to check-in at the airport. We were effusive with our thanks towards the Spanish lady, who was so kind to us through the night. Like a true hospitality specialist, she checked that we had a snack and water, and let us use the restaurant toilets in the early hours, and was able to tell us the easiest way to get back to the airport, which involved a dawn walk to the nearest metro station via the sleeping streets of Amsterdam.

We got home that day, and said that we would somehow send a postcard back to that night manager to thank her again. But alas, things got in the way, and only almost a year later, did I finally get round to writing this review.

This is really a letter of thanks to that wonderful night manager who accommodated as best we can given the incredible circumstances that we faced. And I sincerely hope that we will be able to stay in Amsterdam properly in this hotel who clearly know how to pick their staff, and is no doubt a reflection of how good they are too.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ting Wai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your letter, we are very grateful for your words and very pleased that we could provide some comfort to what it turned out to be a long and inconvenient day for you and your wife. We remember it well, it was a difficult moment for travellers and hotels and we did everything it was in our hands to make you feel as comfortable as possible. We wish you hadn't had to stay like this and we would like to thank you for sharing your positive attitude despite the circumstances, we appreciate it very much. Your letter will be shared with the whole team, they will be very pleased to know about it.

Thanks again for taking the time to review your experience with us and we really hope to welcome you soon, this time in a usual situation.

Take care and see you soon,

Vicky Perez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Large room with spacious bathroom and kitchenette. All you need in the kitchen - even a dishwasher! Lovely soft bed!
It was nice to get back to the hotel from the city to get some rest in this quiet hotel.
Continental breakfast with all you need like various juice, croissants, cereals - even glutenfree, multiple choice of bread.
Shoppingcentre located nextdoor to the hotel with many shops.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 436lillianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very kind of you to comment on some points that you have experienced with us, wer are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our quiet space after a day out in the city, and also our complimentary breakfast.

We would like to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Vicky Perez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

We booked our stay at the Element hotel through a package weekend break through British Airways.

The hotel is well located just on the outskirts of the main town in a quiet location. Ideally positioned between two metro stations of which one is a 10-15 minute walk with the other a short bus journey(5-10mins) from the bus stop outside the front of the shopping centre (connected to the hotel). There you can buy metro,tram and bus ticket (GVB ticket) which was £11 for 2 days. The hotel room is very spacious with a large bed, small kitchen with all the utensils needed and a dining table which is ideal if you want to eat on a budget. Shower room was great with a ceiling shower head and an additional separate moveable shower head for other uses both had good water pressure and temperature control. There also is plenty of clothes storage with an ironing board and an iron. The breakfast is continental which we enjoyed and certainly suited our needs with plenty of choice for our 2 night stay.

One small downside was the walls which separate each room are rather thin and we experienced our neighbours playing music until late into the night. Although this was resolved but a quick call to the reception who promptly dealt with the matter.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would certainly stay again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MatthewK486
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Dear Matthew,

We are very grateful for your comments and for recommending our hotel to other travellers. Thank you for sharing a detailed review regarding the service and amenities as well as the advantages of the location. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Vicky Perez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

I arrived at 7.30am and the front desk staff helped to arrange my room by 9am. And she even offered the early check in before I even asked. Great service! Their room is residential/studio style with fully-equipped pantry/kitchenette. Bed is very comfy. The hotel is located beside a shopping mall, with large supermarket, few restaurants and even a SIM card shop. Just the location is quite a walk from Amsterdam Zuid, so I took a taxi, around EUR 7. Breakfast was nice as well.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PI3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to read that the service was just what you needed at your arrival and that our team arranged your early check-in. The studios are spacious and comfortable and the area offers everything that may need during your stay. Regarding getting to the Zuid Station, we understand that you would not choose to walk 10 minutes. There is also the option to take the bus that goes from the shopping mall to Amsterdam Zuid Station, it is a service from the shopping mall, cost-free, and it stops right at the front of the hotel and will take you to the station. The bus departs every 10-12 minutes. I hope this helps. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards,

Vicky Perez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Our stay in this hotel was excellent, from the moment we arrived we felt very good. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast had all the basics to start the day. If you wish eggs, you have to pay them separate.
Quality price, unbeatable. On top, you have plenty of little restaurants around since it is located in a shopping mall. There is also a big Supermarket there, a pharmacy, many shops ...really everything. It is located 15 min from downtown having the tram stop 500 mts away and a night bus that leave you literally at the door of the hotel.
All by all, a great stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank SantaCarne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Element Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and such nice description of your experience in our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed the spacious design, complimentary breakfast and all services that the area offers. Transport to downtown is very convenient and quick, thanks also for commenting on this advantage of our hotel in Amsterdam South, the area is very well connected.

We would like to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Vicky Perez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews