We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment in a fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captain's House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SFO201612...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in 2 separate locations in Amsterdam and this was by far the best.
Pros: excellent host--Arjen was super prompt with communication and very kind, giving us a guided tour of the neighborhood upon arrival. He even lent my son 2 soccer balls and showed us the best places in the neighborhood to play soccer.
--beautiful house located in a safe and picturesque neighborhood very close to the central station
--super comfortable beds
--modern bathrooms, rest of apartment has an old world feel
--easy access to groceries and restaurants

Cons: none!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneBend...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Captains House”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very well equipped 2 floor apartment, has everything you need for a fab long weekend in Amsterdam. Arjen is a great host and goes the extra mile with complimentary items, thank you!! I reiterate all previous reviews and highly recommend, it's in a perfect location with easy access to all of Amsterdam. Please take up his recommendations where to eat, he did us all proud .

The only moan I had is the serious building works that start bang on 7am Mon-Fri, but sleep in the back bedroom is not affected. Obviously this is not a problem if you're early risers, but I would not have booked had I'd known, as I do like a lie in on my holidays. I will be definitely returning though with my family, it is very comfortable and relaxing .

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmykh
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful time in Capain's House, the location is amazing it's minutes walk away from central station and near by many shops and restaurants where you can feel the taste of Amsterdam. The flat was nice and clean and it had all what we needed and could easily accommodate our family of four. There were wifi and cable TV and complimentary coffee, tea and drinks. But most important of all was Arjen's hospitality where he took us on a tour to show us around and sincerely he offered his help, I would definitely recommend the Captain's House and would return back.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you, looking forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmgL8054V...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great location and easy to find; only about 5 mins walk from central station and close to many lovely bars, cafes, restaurants, coffee shops & other attractions and landmarks.

Arjen was a brilliant host and couldn't have been more helpful & accommodating. The apartment was beautiful and had everything we needed and more. It was ideal for the 4 of us and there was plenty of space to store our things.

The living area was great to hang out in later in the evening and although we didn't make use of them, there were lots of DVD boxsets, movies, cd's and books if you happened to spend more time in the apartment.

This is without a doubt the nicest places I have stayed whilst in Amsterdam and I wouldn't hesitate to book again on my next trip.

Thanks for everything Arjen!

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaK1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a lovely apartment.”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Brilliant apartment in a fantastic location. Arjen made sure we had everything we needed. 5 stars! Would love to stay again next time we visit Amsterdam.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you Jessica, looking forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salub
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good we are going back”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Captain's House is one of those places that linger in the mind because everything is perfect. Great hosts- check, great location- check, lovely vibe- check, comfy beds- check, good bathroom- check. Beyond the things you look for if saying for a week it was the little things that made our stay so enjoyable. Arjen met us and showed us around the neighbourhood which was really helpful but also enabled us to get to know him a little. The provision of supplies was also very thoughtful. We were there on New Years Eve and joined in the local festivities which made us feel part of the community which is a bonus when travelling. The house is so lovely, you can feel it's history but it is modernised enough to provide all the comforts required. In short, we lived it so much we are going back again which is something we rarely do.

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séamus O
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For a group or family travelling Captains House is ideal. Very central location close to Central Station and the canal belt. We really appreciated the personal touches and effort made by our host Arjen to make us feel so welcome. The thoughtful and personal gestures such setting time aside to show guests the local area and point out where's good to visit, shop and eat was both useful and very much appreciated.

Other personal gestures from having cold complimentary drinks in the fridge on our arrival to the small details being attended to such as a surplus of clean towels and accessories made staying here feel quite special. We were also left to our own devices and reassured by Arjen to contact him if we needed anything, but of course we didn't because they had everything we would need.

The dishwasher and washer/dryer were very useful as well as the fully equipped kitchen. The apartment was very clean and has so much character with all the period features from the 16th century. Having a key to your own front door in an old Amsterdam town house was very cool indeed, with the host living next door of course.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you Seamus, see you in April, stay fit :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.