We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect apartment for stay in Amsterdam”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captain's House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
WeeFergus
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment for stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Three of us stayed here for a week and couldn't have asked for better. The location is close to Central Station and also some good eating places and supermarkets. The apartment is lovely (built in1652) and it has been modernised to great effect whilst keeping some old-world charm about it. The bedrooms were large and comfortable and one of them led out to a small terrace - lovely for evening drinks. The bathroom and an additional toilet have been modernised and the shower is great (no bath). The stairs are narrow and quite steep so might not be suitable for people with walking difficulties but they certainly kept us fit (2 flights to get up to the bedrooms and bathrooms and another flight to reach the lounge and kitchen). The kitchen is modern and has everything required - even a dishwasher. There is also a washer/dryer in one of the bedrooms. The TV in the lounge has cable and BBC1 and BBC2 is available as well as the normal Dutch channels. There was a myriad of box sets, music and board games for rainy days but we did not have to use them.

Anjer and his wife are great hosts and we were welcomed with some wine, beer and soft drinks as well as plenty of tea and coffee. Anjer met our daughter at the station and carried her case early in the evening and although he offered to do the same for us we felt we felt that our arrival at close to midnight was too late to take up the offer. He gave us 2 separate tours of the surrounding area and advice on where to eat and buy provisions. He also offered to accompany our daughter back to the station for her separate return journey but she felt 05:30 was just a tad too early to accept.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolf3728
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
661 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great apartment in good location ”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spent 5 nights at the apartment. It is in a very good location about a 10 minute walk from central station. The owner was very nice and friendly. He walked me around the neighborhood and showed me good restaurants and the market. When we left he walked us to the train station and helped my parents with their luggage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFO201612...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in 2 separate locations in Amsterdam and this was by far the best.
Pros: excellent host--Arjen was super prompt with communication and very kind, giving us a guided tour of the neighborhood upon arrival. He even lent my son 2 soccer balls and showed us the best places in the neighborhood to play soccer.
--beautiful house located in a safe and picturesque neighborhood very close to the central station
--super comfortable beds
--modern bathrooms, rest of apartment has an old world feel
--easy access to groceries and restaurants

Cons: none!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneBend...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Captains House”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very well equipped 2 floor apartment, has everything you need for a fab long weekend in Amsterdam. Arjen is a great host and goes the extra mile with complimentary items, thank you!! I reiterate all previous reviews and highly recommend, it's in a perfect location with easy access to all of Amsterdam. Please take up his recommendations where to eat, he did us all proud .

The only moan I had is the serious building works that start bang on 7am Mon-Fri, but sleep in the back bedroom is not affected. Obviously this is not a problem if you're early risers, but I would not have booked had I'd known, as I do like a lie in on my holidays. I will be definitely returning though with my family, it is very comfortable and relaxing .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful time in Capain's House, the location is amazing it's minutes walk away from central station and near by many shops and restaurants where you can feel the taste of Amsterdam. The flat was nice and clean and it had all what we needed and could easily accommodate our family of four. There were wifi and cable TV and complimentary coffee, tea and drinks. But most important of all was Arjen's hospitality where he took us on a tour to show us around and sincerely he offered his help, I would definitely recommend the Captain's House and would return back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you, looking forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisagL805...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great location and easy to find; only about 5 mins walk from central station and close to many lovely bars, cafes, restaurants, coffee shops & other attractions and landmarks.

Arjen was a brilliant host and couldn't have been more helpful & accommodating. The apartment was beautiful and had everything we needed and more. It was ideal for the 4 of us and there was plenty of space to store our things.

The living area was great to hang out in later in the evening and although we didn't make use of them, there were lots of DVD boxsets, movies, cd's and books if you happened to spend more time in the apartment.

This is without a doubt the nicest places I have stayed whilst in Amsterdam and I wouldn't hesitate to book again on my next trip.

Thanks for everything Arjen!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a lovely apartment.”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Brilliant apartment in a fantastic location. Arjen made sure we had everything we needed. 5 stars! Would love to stay again next time we visit Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you Jessica, looking forward to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing