We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Pura

Long Pura
Reserve with
Long Pura is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #221 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$54
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: At Long Pura, we serve traditional food in a gorgeous, modern interior, our meals are prepared according to old family recipes. Enjoy the abundance of our rice tables or varied a la carte menu. Our Balinese Chef and his team prepare tastes and fragrances to delight all your senses. You will taste the similarities with the ones in Indonesia. Longpura has more to offer than authentic meals! The hospitable staff with there colorful traditional clothes give you the impression as if you are dining with a friendly Indonesian family Restaurant Long Pura "Eternal Temple" is located in a typical monumental building in the cosy Jordaan area in the city centre of Amsterdam, nearby the Western Church. Upon entering you will be pleasantly surprised by the contemporary and stylish interior with Balinese elements. 7 Days a week you will be greeted with the"Selemat Datang" welcome from our traditional Indonesian dressed staff. . "Dining at Long Pura is a real experience. Eating here is guaranteed to give you that high level of service and high quality food at a pleasant price."
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Very friendly ambiance, food looks and tastes great. One of the better Indonesian resaurants in town.

Helpful?
Thank LudgerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    210
    70
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indonesian Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Invited by a few friends after a day at an Amsterdam conference to join them for an evening meal with a difference. The restaurant remains true to the tastes of the East Indies. The tables filled up quickly even for a weekday evening. Well worth looking up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rijstafel experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We felt that we had to try a Rijstafel while in Amsterdam and picked Long Pura on the recommendation of the hotel. The restaurant is quite big for Amsterdam and really busy. The food was not bad although not great, and we felt that it was reasonably pricy. The person who served us was good and friendly and explained the menu to us which was very helpful. Not sure that this was the best choice we could have made for Indonesian food, but it was a pleasant evening out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magriet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Indonesian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We dined here with friends for a joint birthday celebration. From the moment we arrived we could not fault the service. Our designated server, a very friendly and helpful young man wearing traditional costume,described the various dishes of our chosen 'ristaffle' as they arrived. We really enjoyed the food, of the eight or nine dishes served there was only one that disappointed. The house wine was perfectly good too. Although the restaurant was very busy we were served promptly and did not feel at all hurried when we finished. Instead of ordering a dessert, the restaurant was happy to serve us a birthday cake we had brought in together with a lighted candle and their rendition of 'Happy Birthday' . We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B52s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, pricey, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Got here as soon as they opened. I got seated fairly quickly and they were nice enough to offer to serve their rice tables to me even though I was only one person. And while the service was friendly, the food was fairly slow in coming. I had to wait a very long time for my food and for clean-up as well. The food was tasty although a bit pricey. I would've liked to have dessert, but the dessert card wasn't forthcoming and with everything already taking so long and the restaurant getting crowded, I figured it would take a long while to get it so decided to skip it. All in all, a good experience though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ammoniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Pura also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Long Pura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing