We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, not bad”
Review of Hotel Patou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Patou
Ranked #316 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

After booking in with a friendly and enthusiastic receptionist we were shown to a loft room in a minimalistic style. The bathroom and bedroom were tastefully decorated and cleaned to high standards. The only suggestion I may have would be to have tea/coffee making facilities within the room - however there is a boutique restaurant below the hotel.
The hotel is situated on a quiet shopping street with upmarket designer stores and located approximately 25 mins leisurely walk from Amsterdam Central train station.We found this to be a perfect location for ourrequirements.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

... the rooms must have been very nice. They still are acceptable but could be in better condition. That is a pity because the little hotel is located very well. The service was very friendly. It is a pleasant possibility to stay a night or two but without the comfort of a big hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2012

No complaints about the Hotel at all and I would recommend it to anyone. I do have a complaint about Easy to Book though and wish to warn other customers. When booking and viewing Prices in British Pounds the rate was good. However, after booking the Hotel Easy Book added on Extra Hidden Fees making the Price rise much higher than they advertised.

I ended up being charged £20 more for my stay and I have complained to Easy Book who are now just ignoring me. SO my advice, use the Hotel, it's a good standard but DO NOT BOOK through EasyBook's website

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KARL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Some friends of ours recommended this hotel after their own successful trip earlier this year. Having read the reviews, we were somewhat cautious of making the booking but took our friends' advice and booked.

Unfortunately, the reviews below really do reflect the reality of the hotel. To summarise:

1. Location - next to Louis Vitton and opposit Chanel but no shops to buy a bottle of water (even the restaurant that is part of the hotel would not sell a bottle of water to us as they had just turned the 'closed' sign).

2. Reception - there is now a room functioning as the reception area but it is next to the kitchen - I've never experienced such an over-powering smell of chip fat which also filled the corridors. However, we were grateful of being able to check-in at 10.30am rather than 3pm - not a sign of a busy hotel!

3. The room - a "deluxe" room booked - good attempt at modern style but in desperate need of refreshing. The black furniture was extremely dusty, the curtains were cardboard panels that have curled and were stained and the TV had clearly been cleaned very carelessly leaving large smears. Our wardrobe had electrics in the top corner which were extremely noisy. However, the bedding was very clean and smelled freshly washed.

4. Bathroom - very clean and smart. No complaints here.

5. Noise - although the hotel is on a quiet street in terms of night life, there appeared to be traffic all night long. Very noisy.

Overall, I would not return. Other friends have recommended Park Hotel which is nearby and apparantly worth the extra few £££.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

first the hotel have no reception, the images are misleading and the pluming system was not working, so i moved to an attic room with no shades, so i used to wake up with the early morning light, and while i was leaving there was no one at the reception to check me out, its a very poor hotel, avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yehiaelalaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#35 of 242 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,275 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,997 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patou

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patou 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Patou Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing