We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultra shabby in a great location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Patou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Patou
Ranked #316 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
FVG
Level Contributor
228 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Ultra shabby in a great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

ok..it's probably my fault..when I see "boutique hotel" I always dream of a tiny clean and warm place, maybe hidden but cosy and nice
Patou it's on a great location if you are a museum freak (I'm am!!) and also on a shopping street, but since the beginning it has been disappointing
I received an email after my booking where they ask me to communicate them my arrival time..??? I've tried several times to call them without no one picking up the phone..I was a little bit worried also Maybe I booked a ghost hotel.. After several attempt some one finally answered and they told me that the hotl reception was closed after 7pm..
on my arrival I had the familiar sensation of claustrophobia that I always have on tiny Amsterdam hotels..the door was greasy and pitiful andso the compressed aisle .
The room could have been worst but again thesloppy cleaning and the rippen towel leave a faulty feeling to this experience

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    22
    20
    16
See reviews for
6
56
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I arrived and had to knock on the door of the cafe downstairs and attract the attention of the person sweeping up. Internet was not working. No TV in the room. Room dusty. Woken frequently throughout the night as windows were no insulation from the sound of passing revellers, cars and bikes etc. Cafe opens at 8.30am - too late for us to have breakfast and get to our appointments. Cursory making up of room. No proper reception. Ambivalent about lack of TV. Overall fairly rubbish.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

After booking in with a friendly and enthusiastic receptionist we were shown to a loft room in a minimalistic style. The bathroom and bedroom were tastefully decorated and cleaned to high standards. The only suggestion I may have would be to have tea/coffee making facilities within the room - however there is a boutique restaurant below the hotel.
The hotel is situated on a quiet shopping street with upmarket designer stores and located approximately 25 mins leisurely walk from Amsterdam Central train station.We found this to be a perfect location for ourrequirements.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

... the rooms must have been very nice. They still are acceptable but could be in better condition. That is a pity because the little hotel is located very well. The service was very friendly. It is a pleasant possibility to stay a night or two but without the comfort of a big hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

No complaints about the Hotel at all and I would recommend it to anyone. I do have a complaint about Easy to Book though and wish to warn other customers. When booking and viewing Prices in British Pounds the rate was good. However, after booking the Hotel Easy Book added on Extra Hidden Fees making the Price rise much higher than they advertised.

I ended up being charged £20 more for my stay and I have complained to Easy Book who are now just ignoring me. SO my advice, use the Hotel, it's a good standard but DO NOT BOOK through EasyBook's website

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank KARL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#228 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#126 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#31 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patou

Property: Hotel Patou
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patou 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Patou Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing