We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual European 3* quality...”
Review of Hotel Patou

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Patou
Ranked #319 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 10 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

It takes quite something for me to say bad... but I had to complain so many times during my stay that it actually deserves it this time. We got there, we were told to enter through the restaurant with all the luggge (avoiding tables and people having lunch) once inside they told us to enter through the other door, again tables and people. We go up one level with a lift and we are told that only one of the two bedrooms is ready. We say, ok, let's leave the luggage in the other bedroom and let's go walk around. The room was spacious, large enough and with nice design but it had some kind of an "unfinished design" flavour to it. When we received the second room the door to the bathroom (and toilet) would not close without scratching the ceiling and making the paint from the top fall on your head. They told us to "leave the door open" as a solution. There was no wifi in the room (although we were given a wifi password). We were told that only some of the rooms had wifi (those closer to the signal) We complained and we were told that no other rooms were available and the only solution would be to take us to another hotel (we planned this trip months in advance and we chose this hotel for its location).The location is really good within walking distance of so many attractions but the hotel itself is not worth the outrageous amount of money we were charged (It was a holiday period) we even booked an upgraded room and we ended up in a regular room because it was the only one with wifi around (the paint on the ceiling kept falling though in this DIFFERENT room.
Service from the manager was AWFUL, he was disrespectful, rude, dismissed us by waving his hand and did not offer truly satisfactory answers/solutions to any of our issues.
Would not recommend it, would not go back... if you find it cheap get it and do not expect too much (that way you might actually get a good impression)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Luisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank phillip d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2012

First of all - hotels in Amsterdam are expensive and finding a room with private bathroom is sometimes impossible without paying a small fortune for a night. This hotel is a good value for money but it could be better.

What I liked:
Our room was small but clean. I liked the design, the bathroom was small but very smart designed so it was comfortable in use. The bed was extremely comfy - big, with soft pillows and warm duvet - something really nice after the whole day of walking. The location is also good - a walking distance to the centre (with canals and other nice Amsterdam-ish things ;)), the neighbourhood is rather posh, with fancy shops and other expensive stuff.

What I didn't like:
The internet connection in our room didn't exist (2nd floor). We could use the wi-fi only at the reception (a small room on the 1st floor, next to the restaurant kitchen). One thing that was really annoying - the receptionist worked also in the restaurant downstairs so he sometimes wasn't available at the desk and people had to wait for him to come and check them in or out... This was kinda odd. The entrance to the hotel is next to the restaurant doors, you have to ring to get there and we waited like 10 mins on the street until some man came down and said we needed to go through the restaurant. The only way led up the really narrow staircase and it was hard to get up to the first floor with heavy and big luggage... No kettle/tea set in our room, no breakfast.

And last but not least - I saw a mouse at the reception. I was sitting there and surfing the internet when I saw it came from the closet next to the desk. And that was really NOT nice, that mouse.

If there was a kettle and there wasn't a mouse, I would give 4 points in overall rating instead of 3.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocking_pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

ok..it's probably my fault..when I see "boutique hotel" I always dream of a tiny clean and warm place, maybe hidden but cosy and nice
Patou it's on a great location if you are a museum freak (I'm am!!) and also on a shopping street, but since the beginning it has been disappointing
I received an email after my booking where they ask me to communicate them my arrival time..??? I've tried several times to call them without no one picking up the phone..I was a little bit worried also Maybe I booked a ghost hotel.. After several attempt some one finally answered and they told me that the hotl reception was closed after 7pm..
on my arrival I had the familiar sensation of claustrophobia that I always have on tiny Amsterdam hotels..the door was greasy and pitiful andso the compressed aisle .
The room could have been worst but again thesloppy cleaning and the rippen towel leave a faulty feeling to this experience

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I arrived and had to knock on the door of the cafe downstairs and attract the attention of the person sweeping up. Internet was not working. No TV in the room. Room dusty. Woken frequently throughout the night as windows were no insulation from the sound of passing revellers, cars and bikes etc. Cafe opens at 8.30am - too late for us to have breakfast and get to our appointments. Cursory making up of room. No proper reception. Ambivalent about lack of TV. Overall fairly rubbish.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#226 of 373 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#141 of 373 in Amsterdam
545 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#57 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patou

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 63, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £133 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patou 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Patou Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing