We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine, would go back”
Review of Bojo Restaurant

Bojo Restaurant
Reserve with
Bojo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,062 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Woking, UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“It's fine, would go back”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Funnily enough, after we were seated my wife realised that we'd eaten there before, some years ago. It's very small and much of the seating is on padded stools.

I had the squid which was stuffed with something, don't know what, but in contrast to a previous reviewer, I thought it was good, very tasty. This came with tofu, bean sprouts & kroepoek. My wife had a veggie dish with beans, tofu, kroepoek. Again, she thought it was very good.

I would go back but there is also a very good Indonesian next door, Puri Mas, which is proabaly pricier but is certainly more comfortable and I prefer that one.

But Bojo is still fine!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    69
    37
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice ambiance, but quality of the food and service is low. The meat was chewy. The is another indonesian much better next door.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
433 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant quit friendly with a good selection of well priced Indonesian plates. The service was reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rossland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Indonesian - good food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had been wandering around, looking for something a little different and came across Bojo. Fairly busy: always a good sign, although not much to look at from the outside. In fact, the interior could also do with a face lift. However, service was fast and efficient, with a decent atmosphere. There are a limited number of tables outside, although we chose to sit inside. The food was enjoyable and not overly expensive. Definitely good value for money.
This is clearly not a 5* establishment, and doesn't portray itself to be so, as some other reviewers seemed to expect.
We all enjoyed our meals, all plates were empty and we would return if we are in Amsterdam again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_4Ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst meal”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Based on mention in guide book (10 Best - DK - Amsterdam) went here on 30 Aug. We also had heard good reports of Indonesian food in Amsterdam - but not at Bojo it turned out. It was busy so looked hopeful. Food was very poor. Our table of 4 all said the same. Only one dish (deep fried cod/fish starter was edible). Baby squid were utterly foul! Not sure why it was busy. All the food looked equally bad. Don't go is all I can say! Female table staff were very sweet, friendly and helpful but this just made it more awkward. Oh dear! Avoid!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bojo Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bojo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing