We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good and convenient we ate there twice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Place - CLOSED

La Place
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So good and convenient we ate there twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We wandered into the V&D store while walking around not far from Dam Square our first evening in Amsterdam and found the restaurant. It was crowded and we were initially a little confused. There is buffet style food plus lots of options where they make it to order for you and we weren't sure how it worked but the cooks and other diners on line were helpful and we ended up with a great dinner both times. There was a great variety of food types to choose from and the prices were very reasonable. You pay for extras like ketchup or mayo packets but that didn't affect the overall good price. Though it was packed, getting our food was quick, the cooked to order food good. My husband picked a steak and it was grilled as we stood there. We found a table upstairs easily and had a leisurely dinner. There was a serve yourself water station if you didn't want to purchase a drink. We opted to get dessert to go from the bakery in the store adjacent to the restaurant area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nrretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    240
    47
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not to miss-great vegetarian choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

the food is all locally sourced and fresh! No frozen french fries! We saw them peeling and cutting the potatoes on site. We had their fresh hand tossed pizza as well as wok stirred fried rice. All vegetarian and delicious

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting experience with manager @La Place restaurant Duinrell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just had the most obnoxious ignorant unprofessional experience with a "so called Manager of the La Place restaurant operating at www.Duinrell.nl holiday resort in Holland. This individual considered it acceptable to throw a receipt in my face and state " I will not help you" when asked for his help to find some toast or kids cereal for my little boy as the limited buffet available did not include kids cereals he would eat. I travel a great deal and have NEVER experienced anything like this aggressive ignorance. La Place - executive team - invest in some basic customer service training for your staff and reprimand behaviour such as this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonseie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, quick food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you are touring around Amsterdam and looking for a fast meal without spending a small fortune check out La Place. Located in the V&D there are two options: you can grab some thing and go or sit in the restaurant. The food is fresh and there are a ton of options. From fresh sandwiches, to soups, to full meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DLubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great variety of choices, delicious and fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I really like this place - I've visited it on both of my trips to Amsterdam. You take a tray and can choose from a huge number of freshly prepared dishes. There are sandwiches, noodle dishes cooked to order, pizza, baked dinners, cakes, fresh juices and smoothies etc. - so much choice! I love the variety, it's great value and totally delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Place also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing