We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giant Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pancake Bakery

The Pancake Bakery
Ranked #15 of 103 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Giant Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to revisit The Pancake Bakery as we went in Feb 2013 and shared a pancake (which was just right for two people). But this time I had a cheese omelette and my husband had a plain pancake. We weren't disappointed it really was lovely. The staff are friendly and the price of the food is good. A trip to Amsterdam isn't complete with a trip to this amazing place!!

Helpful?
Thank AGlastonburyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    936
    347
    109
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had breakfast there once while staying in Amsterdam. Good pancakes and omelets and agreeable staff!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianamsbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More overpriced than last time. Expensive for just a crepe.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Went here a few years ago and while it is still a nice place, with good atmosphere and good food, it is truly over priced for what you get. As a group of 3 we went here for breakfast and it ended up costing more than dinner the night before.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Satchel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork city
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I were in Amsterdam for 3 days, a friend who had lived in Amsterdam recommended the Pancake Bakery to us so we decided on our first morning not to have breakfast in our hotel but to try this restaurant instead. I'm glad we did!! We ate our breakfast here all 3 mornings of our city break, I think that says it all really about how much we enjoyed our pancakes!

It's a lovely, quaint restaurant, it's long and narrow and if you get a table around the middle of the restaurant you can watch the chef's making the pancakes which is a nice way to entertain yourself while you wait for your order to arrive.

We tried something different every morning, both sweet and savoury and not one pancake let us down. The pancakes are huge, I have a big appetite but it was a struggle to finish them!

We hit the place around 1030/1100 every morning and by the time we left about an hour later the queue for a table was always out the door and down the street so make sure you hit the place before midday for the busy lunch period or it'll be a long wait by the looks of things!

Every morning our bill came to around €30/35, this usually entailed two pancakes with lots of extras and a creamy coffee each, cheaper then our hotel and probably tastier too! All in they were probably the best pancakes my wife and I have ever had, next time I'm in Amsterdam I'll definitely be returning to the pancake bakery!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PEJACorkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slop”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We thought we'd better pay the bakery a visit as we were passing. Oh how I wish we hadn't bothered it was inedible, expensive rubbish. Service did not improve the experience.

Spend your money elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kmham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pancake Bakery also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Pancake Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing