We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sporting Porto”

G.D.R. Os Lusitanos
Ranked #3,137 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sporting Porto”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Great place, tipicamente português "sede" nice people and good good. Infants com novo e fritas. Watching the match and calling bad names to the referee.

Helpful?
Thank Bernardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Great cataplana tipical dish from Algarve -Portugal,great food,nice people and a wonderfful service for a great price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris_Oomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grugliasco
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“still have to understand some things about it”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Since we love portuguese cuisine, we went there on a saturday evening, pushed by the enthusiastic reviews on T.A.
The first impression was quite ambiguous, in the sense that (maybe it was our fault or have misunderstood somenthing) we expected to find a restaurant or something similar and, instead, when we opened the door, we've seen a dozen of people around a table looking at us quite astonished. It seemed a family meeting.
Well, we thought, let's see if they have something for dinner. We've seen an old woman behind the counter and asked if it was possible to eat something. She went to call for another woman who kindly talked with us and said she could make something for dinner.
We took a seat and thought we would have ordered something from a menu.
Instead, 10-15' later, the woman came with two main courses for us: I must say the were very good and tasty (surely homemade or made in that moment, probably she served us the same thing they were eating at their table) and we really liked.
Then we tried to order a dessert but she told us they didn't prepared anything because they've worked until early in the afternoon. Quite disappointed, because I wanted to try the portuguese specialities (i.e. pasteis de nata, arroz doce), I had to content myself witch a glass of ruby Port (wonderful).

The atmosphere is very relaxed, like being at (others) home.
Maybe the core fact is this one: this place is not a restaurant but a club/community center mainly frequented by Portuguese people (beside us and the dozen of people there were only a couple of workers drinking beer while watching a football game on TV) and when you enter it it almost seems you have ringed some private house's door..

In the end, be warned: the cuisine was surely really good and homemade and we appreciated the way they tried to satisfy us, but if you expect to go to a restaurant and choose à la carte...well..maybe it's not the place for you. And, I repeat it, when we went there it was SATURDAY evening.
Price are reasonables.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank nordavind_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing portugese food.”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Was just dreaming of having good food, andI found the wonder. Excellently made in healthy , simple way.. A must try ..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anurupa924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aasdasdasdasd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More Portuguese than some places in Portugal”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This place serves typical Portuguese dishes that only my mother would be able to cook like that. Awesome taste and preparation and a great environment, just like home. It's a good place to meet Portuguese culture.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aasdasdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed G.D.R. Os Lusitanos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to G.D.R. Os Lusitanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing