We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #108 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel last minute for a weekend away. We stayed in a small double room, which was small, but actually the size didn't cause any problem. The bathroom was modern and clean and the bed was so comfortable I had to set an alarm each day to stop us sleeping in!

We found the staff really helpful, the breakfast great and the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate at the bar a nice touch.

The location was good too, right opposite the tram stop. We were close enough to walk to the busy spots, but far enough away to benefit from the quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    481
    199
    83
    36
See reviews for
78
674
65
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for five nights during the last week of July. While there were some positives, overall this hotel was disappointing and we cannot recommend. We were in a large room (there are both smaller and larger ones available) but it was still absurdly small. This is not our first rodeo in Europe so room size is not a surprise to us. The room had no drawers for storage or even a place for your luggage unless you count the floor as a storage area. The bathroom was even more of a joke. When you bend over the tiny sink to brush your teeth and your butt hits the wall behind you, the design is flawed. The room design consisted of black and white with the feature being full length black wool curtains- just plain ugly. Wireless was spotty, elevator was tiny and the staff not always helpful ("why do you want to go there?" in response to one request for directions to the world's largest flower auction), although they were always pleasant and there was one fellow who did help with our safe and provided the directions we needed.
The hotel was clean and breakfast very nice, with a tram stop right outside. Still, find another place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The XL Double room was spacious, beautiful, new, and very clean. The bed was wonderful! I liked the lighting, it made the room look bigger and gave it a romantic feel. The toilet and the shower were actually in two seperate rooms. The lift didn't go all the way upstairs, so we ended up carrying our bags for the last floor.

The lobby looked inviting and the receptionists were nice.

The breakfast was OK; continental breakfast.

The location is the only drawback. If you're going on a romantic holiday like us and don't mind the 10 minute walk it is OK (and there are shops and restaurants on the way to the city), but we never came back to the hotel during the day to rest our feet because of the distance. There is a busstop right outside the hotel, but we never used public transportation while in Amsterdam.

If I went back it would have to be with a partner. If I went with a girlfriend or larger family I would definitely want to stay closer to the city. All in all though this was a very pleasant stay and we loved the room which was very different from any other room we've slept in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseHenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Positives...
Right next to a tram stop with two trams serving directly from Central Station - great when you have suitcases!
Very friendly staff - helpful, gave tips on what to see/do/where to go, spoke fluent English, no problems in that respect!
Also very clean!
Apple Macs in reception for people to use as and when you want! And free wifi throughout the hotel anyway...
Bikes that could be hired (although we didn't, they looked to be good!)
Not far from Rembrant Square (approx 10 minute walk) - good bars, cafes, nightlife...
Perfect location for the Heineken Brewery!
Rooms have a safe in them and plenty of socket in room for charging cameras, phones etc - always handy as you usually only get one socket!
Showers were also good...

Negatives...
Perhaps not quite central enough for the main hubbub of the city! - we are active walkers and do a lot of city breaks, but walking to Dam Square and back and seeing all nightlife (Red Light!) made it a little too far when wanting to go to the central areas everyday...which was a shame.
Breakfast was 'ok' but by no means great...a few limited cereal options and other continental breakfast options (croissants etc) but not an overwhelming choice of options...could have been better...(great tea/coffee cups though!)
The room...this was the biggest disappointment - we had a souterrain room (small double in the basement)...we had read reviews before about it being 'small' so we were prepared...but it wasn't small, it was REALLY small...(the other rooms aren't much bigger anyway) - it's also very dark (despite having windows) as everything is painted black!...for a couple away for 3 days with two small suitcases this was VERY cramped! There are four coathangers to hang things up in a little makeshift 'wardrobe' (not really a wardrobe) and no where else to store clothes...we were living out of our suitcases (not ideal really!). Also very noisy - being in the basement under reception/lobby area means you hear everything...lies in not a possibility!

Overall...an average hotel ...bear in mind the drawbacks if you're booking...

Room Tip: DON'T have a souterrain (small double) room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great location for exploring both the old part of town and the museum area. Trams stop right outside. Nice boutique hotel , good decoration and facilities . Staff very friendly and helpful . buffet breakfast had plenty of choice, good quality and locally produced where ever possible . Rooms on top floor only accessible by stairs as lift stops 1 floor below. Glad we booked a 'large' room ( would hate to see a small one!) good shower/wet room but more hanging space needed in bedroom (no wardrobe) All in all and good choice and good value for money . Recomended.

Room Tip: go for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

amazing location!

awesome breakfast. (in order to accommodate my gluten free girlfriend it was just a matter of asking)

the service was competent, polite and curt. i wouldn't say 'friendly' but i've heard this is the dutch way.

the rooms were tiny, but clean and smart.

i will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshLawrenceSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here whilst on a weekend city break, it was the first time either of us had been to Amsterdam so we a little unsure of location etc… But on arrival we were more than pleasantly surprised to find the tram stop that goes direct to Dam Square was right outside our door! The staff at the hotel are very helpful and the whole place has a young hip vibe, I am not sure I would recommend this hotel for families or older couples, but think it is a great base for a city break. Our room was spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated, however be warned all rooms are a little on the small side here, not that it really bothered us as all we needed was somewhere to relax and sleep after a long day of pavement stomping.

The beds deserve a mention too, as we found them incredibly comfortable and the large overhead showers are great for waking you up! We are already planning our next trip back and will be booking in here again for sure.

The only thing I would suggest being aware of is the Souterrain rooms, these are advertised at small doubles, however I do not think two people would be very happy in here as they are tiny! Also as the name suggests the are below ground level, so not very light and airy. However if you are single person who just wants somewhere to throw a bag while you party the weekend away this room will probably be fine for you. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaZara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#36 of 367 in Amsterdam
459 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#149 of 367 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#142 of 367 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#115 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,059 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#5 of 367 in Amsterdam
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing