We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Comfortable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #113 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Affordable and Comfortable Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Hotel V is a warm and welcoming concept hotel.

The staff is friendly. The receptionist at check in was funny, friendly, even a little goofy and totally cool.

One late night attendant helped me order food from a nearby pizza place.

Breakfast attendants offered me croissants even after the official mealtimes were closed.



These small acts of service make an affordable, comfortable, and great hotel even better.

The beds are great, the shower is clean and get hot quickly, and the hotel uses metal keys, something few hotels still do.

Volume can sometimes be an issue in the restroom, I could hear people near me very well.

Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near stairs, thin walls mean you hear a lot of stomping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inasticushomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    466
    194
    81
    36
See reviews for
72
657
65
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is in a good location for those visiting Amsterdam for pleasure or Business. I have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last 5 years. However my last visit, I was a little disappointed. My room didn't appear to be as clean as usual, the bed sheets was stained (although it was clear they had been cleaned), the bedding duvet had wear holes, the bathroom sink was missing the plug and finally the battery cover for the remote control was also missing.

One of these things you might accept as an oversight, but all of these things in a single visit leads one to think the standards have slipped a little.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The location is excellent and just near the Rijksmuseum (brilliant but try to avoid popular times if possible). We stayed in a loft room & perhaps the other rooms are better but it was cold (resin floor) a noisy heater was provided but had little effect. The stairs were seriously steep and we had said we were happy to carry our luggage but didnt know what we were in for so I think the staff who did should have insisted to help! Very scant provision ie no dressing gown, slippers, body cream, cotton buds, minimal tea/coffee provision and no UHT. The room service was poor - beds just made towels not even folded and towel rail turned off which was really annoying in light of the temp. Bathroom tiny, with ridiculous rectangle sink that just looked messy and lighting really bad to do make up and no mag. mirror. No Bath. The bed was really surprisingly comfortable although very noisy outside streets/traffic.Trying to be a little too trendy without delivering the quality. Felt it was run by inexperienced staff who were overly laid-back. With a few improvements could be very good so it is a shame.

Room Tip: Dont pick the loft rooms especially if you dont like steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandROxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTown,South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is about my 12th Stay Hotel V, Frederiksplein and it was excellent. The location remains brilliant with great Tram connections right outside. It is close to the Museum District, Vondelpark, Leideseplein etc etc The prices are excellent for the size of the rooms and the quality of the rooms. Everything is well styled with great products in the rooms like YUMEKO duvets to keep you warm and snug. I always request a room in front. Although you can hear street noise and the tram, I love this City Buzz. I can understand why many Fashionista's stay at this hotel. There are no Tea & Coffee facilities in the room but the bar makes great latte's that can be enjoyed in front of the fire or in your room.The Hotel V Crew rocks - always friendly, always helpful & super cool. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Request a room in the front. I like 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamWilcox-Diedericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Sam, thank you very much for your lovely review! That was very sweet! We love guests that we can get to know over a long period of time, and we hope that business brings you back to Amsterdam for many more years to come!

All the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I am actually not sure what to think about this hotel... Following several reviews, I booked a kind of superior room, so I got a bigger one on the last floor (no eleavtor till there... you need to walk from the third floor!!)... There was nothing wrong with it, the bad was great and there was enough space, but they should have a closet or something similar and not just some kind of "Ikea" hanger. I did not like the bathroom... "rainshower" only... somebody please tell me, how can I get clean on all "hiden places" with this :))... I did not like the concrete floor and there are some more things I would change.... But, the truth is that the location is not bad (through not my favourite in this city, but as always - the decision to book this hotel was conected with price...), breakfast is good, staff is kind enough (but they could give me the room one hour before official check in time...nobody checked anything, lady just said "its not availiable yet..."). Room was cleaned well, they just should do something with strange smell in the corridors....
Nothing really bed, but I will certainly look for something else in Amsterdan next time....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein.
All the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were seduced by the look of this hotel on its website, and the solid reviews here on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed - the hotel is very chic and comfortable, and is a great location for the city's sights. The cost is reasonable too, especially as it includes breakfast.

We knew in advance the rooms are quite wee, but I feel more could have been made of the space available. I'm never a fan of the student-style temporary looking furniture, and small things like a night stand both sides of the bed, and the TV placed at the right angle for viewing from bed (there's no where else to watch it from!) would certainly improve things. The cleanliness of the room was disappointing - there was a lot of dust around the light fittings, under the bed, and some dubious looking stains on the bed sheets too. Noise was an issue - we could hear when anyone passed our room from the corridor.

Redeeming features are the beds are comfy, the staff are friendly, and the location is excellent. I would recommend it, and perhaps need to be more demanding when I'm at a venue making sure things like cleanliness are dealt with. If you're out sightseeing for much of your time in the city this is a good base.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMA502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. We love that you had a great stay!
However, I do apologise if the room was a bit dusty! Our housekeeping team is working hard on every room, I will pass this message on to them and make sure that they take more care with the light fixtures and under the beds. Thank you for the feedback!
We do hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Al the best,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

- Clean rooms though a bit small
- Great location, walking distance from tourist attractions, market, bars
- Good value for money
- Great helpful staff, speak English and will help you with any questions you have
- Breakfast buffet available at a reasonable cost
- Bike rental possible through the hotel staff with a small deposit amount
- Non-smoking rooms
- Fast wifi. Mostly it's free unless specified with the booking offer
- You can check out early and store your luggage in the luggage room to collect later

Room Tip: Standard double room or Large double room is ideal for two people. The small double room is good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutfinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. We are so pleased to hear that you had a nice stay, and hope that you will make it back one day soon!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#35 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#83 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing