We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel V Frederiksplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Ranked #108 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very small rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were aware that our room was one of the basement rooms, and the actual picture for those is from our room. What is not shown there is that the dimensions are unbelievably small (there is almost no space to move, two people would barely fit standing, and there is no wardrobe as such, obviously no door. I was very disappointed with this, I was not expecting something wonderful, but at least somewhere where you could breathe or move somewhere that was not the bed.
Toilet ok, small but cute and clean.

Room Tip: Don't choose the basement rooms, they are overpriced and the dimensions are ridiculous. Almost i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msrsoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Indeed! When you book a "small room"...that is what you get! We are not lying, in fact we call it a "small room" so that people are aware of that when they book. ...And yet people are still surprised.

Next time if you want a large room, there are also the rooms called "large room" and "xlarge room". Try one of those!

Thanks fo the review, and see you again soon we hope!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    460
    190
    79
    35
See reviews for
71
645
65
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

What a warm welcome & excellent comfortable, modern Loft!
Really great Loft; the children loved the view at the busy square (and good isolated huge windows!). Also ideal: the tea & Nespresso machine, the little kitchen makes getting your own breakfast possible; enough bakery's/market around the corner!

Room Tip: Loft 1 has a great view on the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Charly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in Hotel V lofts. We are pleased to hear that it was a nice stay for your family, and that the children liked the view. And with a young family....I can imagine that the coffee was indeed a perk! ;)

See you again some time!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. It was well placed for cycling, sightseeing and there is a choice of good bars and restaurants nearby! The hotel is modern and clean, beds are comfy and the breakfast was very good! We'd happily stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and love this location as much as we do!
See you again soon I hope!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were really excited, because of the beautiful pictures on the website, but...

The warmth (a warm welcome: "we are so happy to have you in our hotel", was nowhere to be found!
Design-wise it was very minimal, and a great lack of cosiness, whilst that's what is reflected on the site, in reality!

The employees were not very competent and most of them not even Dutch! Except for two girls. But again, no service or courtesy at all...

Our room was double booked, which we found out on the afternoon of our arrival.
But not even a gesture to try and make up for their mistake in anyway, not even an apology!

We supposedly had the 'best room' in the hotel that night, but it was very noisy (from the inside/hallway, as well as the outside (no double glazing), so hardly any sleep at all...

The bed & the breakfast were great though !

Room Tip: I suggest you look for a different hotel completely! We will not be returning here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, General Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. Your room was not double booked, but we accidentally booked you in the wrong room category. When we realised our mistake, we contacted you immediately with the following options:

- Free cancellation of your night at Hotel V
- Upgrade to our sister hotel, the 4 star Hotel v Nesplein
- A slightly smaller room category including breakfast for a lower rate
- Free drinks on arrival

We find it really surprising that you decided to leave a negative review, because out of all of the options that we offered you above, you chose to stay in one of our xlarge rooms (one that you personally chose) at a lower rate. We did apologise to you several times (at least 3 times that we can see by email, and several times in person and on the phone). We understand that this was a mistake on our part, but we did our utmost best to please you, and in this case we feel that we did the best we could.

Kind Regards,
Jan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Dear Hotel V,

After spending our two weeks of Christmas vacation apart, there was only one day of holidays left for my boyfriend and I to spend together. We decided to go to hotel V for this one night. In this short time, you really surprised us by your hospitality, great facilities, and delicious breakfast. But most of all, we were impressed by in the room itself, especially by the relaxed but cool design, and great shower. In short: our compliments on the quality for such a fair price!
We will try to stay longer during our next holiday:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello, and thank you for the very kind, warm review!
We are happy that we could make the stay with your boyfriend special.
Come back anytime!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The decor is nice, but the manner of some of the staff takes the sheen off what could be a nice experience.

In my opinion there are plenty of better located hotels of a better quality at a similar or lower price.

Access to the trams is easy with 4 lines within 50 yards. There are jot many good eating or drinking spots close by...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oknijbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Frederiksplein. I am only curious about your experience with some of the staff, as we take pride in offering friendly service at all times. If you could get in touch with me at amanda@hotelv.nl with a few more details, I would really appreciate it!

Thank you again, and hope to hear from you!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stylishly decorated hotel with a great location and easy access to public transport. The hotel staff are friendly and the rooms very clean. Free wireless connection and there is a safe inside the room. Good breakfast which was included with the room booking. Elevator is small and cramped, so do not bring too much luggage with you. I only stayed for a night (this was in February 2014) but got a good feel about the hotel. Would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hendrai76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello, and thanks for your review! It was really nice to read, and we do hope that you come back for longer than one night next time!

Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#38 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#78 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#142 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#127 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Frederiksplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Frederiksplein

Property: Hotel V Frederiksplein
Address: Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel V Frederiksplein 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V Frederiksplein opened in 2008 and is located in the city centre. It has 48 rooms with lots of light and excellent beds. All designed with love and eye for detail. Each room is different and has a compact but comfortable bathroom with powerful rain shower, flat screen tv and free wifi. A complementary breakfast is served each morning in the impressive lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel V Frederiksplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
v Frederiksplein Hotel
v Frederiksplein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing