We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Cozy & Warm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wherels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wherels
Ranked #7 of 18 Haarlem B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, Cozy & Warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were staying at Wherels's Canal House for 3 nights. The house is really by the canal which is really nice. The location is close to city centre and less than 15mins walk from train station. One thing is that there are a prostitute houses at the alleys behind the house.

The house is cozy and really give a home feeling. We especially like the kitchen that we did cook a meal one night. Since we are 3 people, 2 of us were sleeping on the double bed and one needed to slept at the attic. Finally, nice breakfast was served everyday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the house next door for a couple of April nights, and it took a while before we started feeling comfortable. The manager was very nice and friendly, and the apartment with patio extremely cute, but we simply weren't used to a place like this - we felt like visiting someone, and that someone was just somewhere (maybe doing groceries), and he/she would be puzzled to come back home and find us, total strangers, there. :-) The first evening was a little funny for this reason, but we slept extremely well, and by the breakfast time we were all thumbs up for this experience. It was like waiting for Santa Clause when we heard the breakfast being delivered in the kitchen! And what a delicious breakfast it was with lots of fruit, fresh juice and excellent cheese and bread and eggs. Only the croissants were a bit too flaky, but that might be just my personal preference.

Wherels had a great location, close to the station as well as the shops and city centre. It was easy to stop by "at home" to have a cup of coffee or to have a little rest from time to time.

We had a rather cold week for our vacation, so the house was quite chilly, too. It was however possible to turn the heat on and have the flat much warmer.

I gave only three stars for the cleanliness, but that doesn't mean that the house wasn't clean, because it was. Everything was just generally a bit scruffy and old. I saw a mouse trap in the kitchen cupboard and sort of couldn't get over it. But it was not set, nor did I see or hear anything else mouse-related, so it was just my fixation. And made me miss my two cats at home! :-D

All in all, I was impressed with the friendliness of staff, the lovely, quiet "home of our own in Holland" and the unique experience. I would definitely prefer this to a sterile mass hotel. Wherels has charm!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Rooms: Great rooms, clean and very spacious. Beds were comfortable and large. There was a shared courtyard which was nice, though we didn't put it to use. We booked both rooms for a family of 5 and felt it was the perfect set up. There were 2 bathrooms which is always convenient when traveling in a large group.

Location: Very convenient if you're traveling by train, it is 5 minutes away from the Haarlem central station. It is more tricky if you are traveling by car. Our navigation system's map was apparently out of date and it kept trying to take us into dead ends and against one way traffic. This was only an issue when we wanted to drive to the front door to drop our luggage off. With that said, if you have a cellphone data connection and use Google Maps, it will easily guide you there (the maps are more up to date). They suggested parking 5 minutes away at the train station, which isn't too much of a hassle. Haarlem is also a much nicer place to stay than Amsterdam - which is extremely over rated in my opinion. Haarlem is quieter, cleaner and has a nicer small town feel to it. Haarlem has all of the features of Amsterdam but without the mess and unpleasantness of being in a big, crowded, noisy and messy city.

Service: Breakfast is nice and our hosts were more than glad to help us look up directions. You can see a picture of the breakfast. There was also washer/dryer available. Internet is fast (!!!) and a joy to use.

Overall I have nothing negative to say about this B&B, and am very glad that we decided to stay there intead another place in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gk_terato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This B&B was quiet, yet central to most attractions in Haarlem. The room opened onto a patio through French doors. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of fresh fruit. Complimentary coffee, tea, wine and beer was appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbowdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was a little anxious about finding a place to stay in Haarlem with my 2 brothers, but the reviews on this site helped persuade me to chose Wherels. Now I can add my voice to the many glowing comments on here and say that it exceeded my expectations.
We stayed in the attic room; upon arrival, we found a tray of cookies, box of nuts, tea bags, hot chocolate, and a stocked fridge with wine and water (no extra charge). It was a really welcoming touch. The room itself was clean and bright; soft, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, TV, electric kettle, wooden floors. The breakfasts were delicious and enough food to fill up my ravenous, college-athlete brothers. It was easy and fun to get around Haarlem from this location, and close to the bus and train station. All in all, I have rarely had such a pleasant and enjoyable stay anywhere. Many thanks to Reineke and Rosa. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We could not have found a more perfect B&B. We spent a week here before starting our cycling tour. It was clean and comfortable. Ricki, Rosa, and Rieneke could not have been nicer and more helpful. In fact Rosa took us to get information on things we wanted to see during our stay. It was very conveniently located to the train station in one direction and the city center in the other. The healthy breakfasts were just what we needed to fuel up for a day of siteseeing. As the other writers have noted, it was only a 15 min. train trip into Amsterdam and 30 min. to the Keukenhof Gardens. Where Els is a wonderful place to stay in this charming town. It was an easy bus trip from Schiphol. We arrived very early in the morning, but they were expecting us so we could drop off our luggage until the rooms were ready and then stroll around town and take a break at a cafe to watch the people at the Saturday market. The rooms had everything we needed to make us comfortable. We hope to return to this wonderful city and can think of no where else more appealing to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowcountrycyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This little place in Haarlem was a dream. We arrived early and Ricki could not have been any nicer. We stored our bags, and took an easy walk into town. Our objective was to cycle so Ricki offered to have the rental company drop off the bikes at the front door so they would be there the next morning. The morning breakfast was yummy with fresh baked goodies and much more.
The room included a couple of bottles of wine that we took on our rides for a picnic. Coffee,tea,peanuts, beer were also in the room. The room was large and comfortable. And on the last day they let us wash our clothes. This place was just wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftcoastgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
B&B Malts Hotel
#1 of 18 in Haarlem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wherels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wherels

Property: Wherels
Address: Nieuwe Kruisstraat 11 | Nieuwe Kruisstraat 9, 2011 RN Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Where Els’ is ideally located in the heart of Haarlem. A great base from which to explore the Netherlands.This cosy houses suit very well for couples, groups and families.This typical Haarlem huis is located on a small street with no traffic, which is surprisingly quite considering the location - even during the night. Just steps away from shopping, restaurants and the famous Groote Markt (centre square).There is always a lot to do: many local theatre, music and dance events take place in Haarlem.Day visits to Amsterdam and The Hague are very easy. Where Els is a short walk to the train station where six trains per hour depart to take you straight to the centre of Amsterdam (15mins) and to The Hague (40mins). The North Sea with beautiful sandy dunes and beaches are just 10 minutes by car or 30 minutes bike to the west. The coastal towns of Zandvoort and Bloemendaal are great places for lunch or dinner by the sea. Your day will start in the breakfast room where you will get a sumptuous breakfast with fresh biological produce from the local market. All rooms are fully equipped with snacks, drinks TV, DVD, CD, wifi internet, cool, clean, comfortable bedding and a private ensuite bathroom. Note: Just a 15 minute drive from Schiphol international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wherels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing