We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Specktakel

Specktakel
Reserve with
Specktakel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 316 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: At Specktakel we work with the best ingredients from all over the world with a born understanding of combining flavours of food & wine. Here there is no such thing as eating silently, not just by the volume of laughter and enjoyment brought on by the company at the table, but more so by the food and wine that is being enjoyed. Its colours, aromas, and flavours, so simple together creating a wonderful feast to talk about…Let us guide you how to enjoy the flavours and atmosphere in our world of food & wine....
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Visited based on the reviews I read here and was not disappointed! The food was superb, both presentation and quality. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable and very helpful with selecting wines etc.

We had the 4-course Umami and my only regret was not ordering the 6-course, a must try if in Haarlem in my opinion!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pzrafdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    121
    22
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands Down Best Haarlem Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The ever changing menu, the fabulous service, and the exotic selection of wine and food make this a place which I love to return to over and over again.
Any occasion (and sometimes no occasion at all) is a great excuse to visit and try what they have to offer for the season.
The restaurant looks small from the front, but has an expansive interior and lovely terrace in the back which is also covered and heated in winter.
Inexpensive compared to any similar style offerings, The standard 3 course menu is only a little over 30 euro and even the 6 course "Umami" tasting menu is not that much more.
Even more challenging dietary requirements never seem to be a bother either.
All round I couldn't recommend this restaurant more. The only possible downside is that they do not always have tables free and you may have to book, but I have also dropped in and had a table with no issues - Change favours the prepared and you would not want to miss out by not having called first.
Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Three course around the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

In this restaurant they specialize in going around the world in a three course meal..
A starter from Japan, a main course from France, a desert from south Africa.. Combine as much as you can.. You will not get broke.
Young staff, great little garden..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Different and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went to Specktakel on a recommendation from a Haarlem resident and were not disappointed. The staff have excellent coeliac awareness and there were many gluten free options available. The food is pretty different and also delicious so our evening was a great experience. It's also quite a relaxed atmosphere. Very nice indeed, we will return when we are next in Haarlem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank purplejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something different at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

At times an unusual menu, but always a great taste. The menu changes every 2-3 months, so I never get bored of going there. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. There is a garden terrace, a great place to eat in the summer months. In the winter a roof covering and heaters allows the garden terrace to be used all year round. So if you want something a little different, it's well worth giving Specktakel a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Specktakel also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Specktakel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing