We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true dining experience!”
Review of Karmozijn

Karmozijn
Ranked #89 of 322 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: European, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: fabelous restaurant a one man show, kitchen and service in one hand. very cosy interior, good wines and menu price around 40 Euros
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true dining experience!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We ate here with the four of us. I live in Haarlem and I'd cycled past this place on many occasions but it is very modest from the outside and it didn't really register that it was a restaurant. It was only by word of mouth that I heard how good it was. Stepping into the restaurant is like stepping back in time. It has such a fantastically old fashioned, ornate interior. I loved it. It is quite a small restaurant (which I guess is intentional because Ton does everyting himself) so it had a very cosy, familiar atmosphere.
Ton advised on the wine, and we chose our food. From start to finish it was a true dining experience. It is not the type of restaurant where you are rushed in, fed and pushed out, you need to allow for the whoe night and each course is presented at exactly the right time when you've had time to savour and digest the last course and you are ready for the next.
The food is exceptional - very well presented and tastes delicious. But the most impressive thing about Karmozijn is Ton - he takes everything in his stride, cooking and serving everyone with no stress, modest attitude, whist sipping glasses of champagne in between!
He truly has a unique package, I'd recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne_wyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Koch und Kellner”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is an extraordinary place. Ton is not only a very gifted cook, but also an immaculate host, waiter, sommelier. Cooking is very much in the classical style. Wine list is limited, but Ton always has something special up his sleeve. I always felt most comfortable leaving arrangements to him. You are treated as a personal guest and there is a refreshing lack of the mannerisms. No pointing with the little finger. No clever arrangements of food morsels on the plate. Instead sensational flavours and a homely atmosphere. I rarely left before midnight.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
348 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Again a memorable evening at the Karmozijn”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Again we had a very memorabel evening at the Karmozijn. Ton, the host, chef and sommelier, took very good care of us.

You have an excellent selection from the menu and you can choose courses to make up a 3 or 4 course menu. I went for the starter with parma ham and duck liver shavings, grilled scallops with a tomato sabayon and a calf ribeye with a sauce based on sweetbread. All were delicious.

What I find remarkable is that the wines from the winelist can be drunk by the glass! An excellent service indeed.

Very recommendable restaurant in a very nice street in the centre of Haarlem

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
274 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“If you want an excellent all evening dining event, go here”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

What can I say, sometimes restaurants still surprise you, and this was definitely the case here. The owner has made it his own challenge to do it all and to do that all alone. Somehow he excelled in it. As a result everything is just perfect. It takes up all evening and that's just part of the experience. Loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanshja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
348 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A one man band”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Dining in the Karmozijn is a wounderful experience..

If you are looking for a quick bite, do not come here. The dining experience takes most of the evening. Also, if it is busy, be patient as Ton is a one man band (a musician that plays all kinds of instruments at the same time) as he is the owner, the chef, the host and the sommelier.

The dishes are excellent and very well presented. The menu changes with the season and includes highlights such as turbot and different preparations of beef.

The restaurant is elegant and has a homely feel.

Very recommendable if your travels take you to Haarlem, a wounderful, small city in the Netherlands and very close to the sea.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karmozijn also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Karmozijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing