We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay during the business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good place to stay during the business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is great place to stay for couple of nights when you are on business trip.
Decent size rooms with all you need. Clean and well maintained. I was also staying in superior room , so my experience is a little bit off mark in terms of standard features in regular room.
Central and convenient location.
Friendly and very helpful multilingual staff.
Decent breakfast and good restaurant with reasonable prices. Late night bar is also very good, at least you would spend better time there than in other locations nearby.
Relatively quiet location with no heavy traffic around.
My the only complain is that they do not offer all-inclusive parking there, and the fees for underground garage are a bit on higher side.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KotMatvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear KotMatvey,

Thank you for leaving such lovely feedback following your recent stay with us. Also another "thank you" for your kind comments about my great team who always do their best to ensure our guests are taken care of. Hope to see you back soon!

With kind regards

Anneke Rompa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    282
    69
    12
    8
See reviews for
52
301
13
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 28th Dec - 2 Jan, prefect way to welcome in the New Year. Hotel was great, a little dated but who wants ultra modern in such an old town? Staff were very helpful & polite. Haarlem was beautiful, very picturesque & lots of fabulous shops just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. Haarlem Station is 20 minute stroll & cost me €9 to get a return to ticket to Amsterdam, very quick 15 minute train ride & train are very frequent. Overall I'm glad I stayed in Haarlem and not Amsterdam as it was the perfect chilled break.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAmyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for your kind words and for being an ‘ambassador’ for our hotel and the beautiful city of Haarlem!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 31st Dec until Jan 3rd. Although Harlem itself was a bit strange on Hogmanay ( everything was closed so we could not eat or drink between 8pm and12 unless we had pre-booked) we could not fault the hotel in any way. The rooms were clean and comfortable (perhaps a little dated but I'm sure re-furb is in the planning). We didn't book any food in the hotel as we were planning to visit Amsterdam daily, but on Hogmanay when we exhausted all places for eating we arrived back at the hotel hungry after the restaurant had closed, an they kindly made us food. The young gentleman Patrick couldn't be more helpful and we highly rate is ability to go far in the hotel trade! Thank you Carlton Square for a lovely stay in holland and will definitely stay again when we return

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Cath,

Thank you for your email and information concerning the restaurants in Haarlem on ‘Hogmanay’, We will take your remarks into account when we are deciding on the opening hours for our restaurant during ‘Hogmanay’ this year.
Also we will pass on your kind words to Patrick!

With kind regards,
Anneke Rompa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you are staying here one or two nights this hotel is fine. We stayed here 5 nights which included Christmas. On the whole the room(deluxe) is fine, however, it is starting to look a little tired. The minibar, although complimentary, was not always restocked. Towels are small but the bath robes are good. Breakfast is good and the food on offer did not change throughout our stay. It is not cheap to dine in the hotel which seems to be the case across Haarlem. Our biggest disappointment was the Xmas Dinner that we opted to have in the hotel. We also took the wine option. At 85 euros per head we were expecting something spectacular given that it was a fixed menu(secret) and given a lot of hype. Plates were barely warm and the main course of venison was nothing to write home about. The wine waiter took offence when we suggested the wine matched to the venison was not the best option. Consequently we were ignored. In fact we had thought that the wine was being specially selected to suit the menu, however, it was all off the hotel's wine list. Had we known, we would have chosen our own. So a big disappointment there and would not recommend it to anyone. Finally, on checkout the receptionist suggested that we should accept our local currency amount for the bill as the exchange rate was far better than what our bank would give if we chose to pay in euros. Do not believe them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moolookiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

I am really sorry to read about your stay in our hotel and I offer my sincere apologies.
We will evaluate your issues during our weekly management meeting.

During Christmas Dinner I was present myself and I spoke to all guests in the restaurant. I have not hear any remarks about dinner, so I think unfortunately I missed you.

I have send you an email in order to personally discuss your remarks. Hope to hear from you soon!

With kind regards,
Anneke Rompa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have stayed here twice for business. Both times have been great experiences. The staff is exceptionally kind and helpful with restaurant recommendations and taxi reservations. The bar is cozy and the bartenders are quite friendly. The hotel is a short walk to center of haarlem, which I prefer to Amsterdam. The rooms are a good size. As others have said, the building is a bit dated, but it's well maintained. I hope to have the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for your wonderfull response, hope to welcome you back in the hotel very soon!

Kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

hotel is classified as 4 stars, but probably this rating was adequate several years ago.
Furnitures are a bit old, and smell in the room and linen-pillows is not actually pleasant.
the underground car park is convenient, being in the same building and with affordable nightly rates (after 7pm, less than 3euro until 8am).
Hotel staff is generally kind and professional, and helpful.
Hotel location is good, 5 min walking from the centre.
wifi connection is also good.
As an average, I consider the hotel as expensive, in view of the the age of furnitures and services.

Room Tip: all the rooms look similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIAMA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your reaction! We really appreciate your sincere opinion which we will take into account!

WIth kind regards


Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very friendly staff, the hotel was nice and clean rooms are very comfortable. The train station is not that far, a nice walk and there are plenty of places to eat and shop. The staff helped us multiple times,would recommend it and go back there myself.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonSquare, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Yizi,

Thank you for your kind recommendation, it's really appreciated!


With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Property: Carlton Square Hotel
Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Best Value Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing