We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Wonderful Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Square Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just came back from our 4-day stay in Haarlem and we couldn't be any happier with the choice of a hotel! This is, by far, one of the best hotels we've stayed at - impeccably clean, cozy and with attention to detail. Attentive and polite staff all around, starting with the General Manager Mrs. Rompa who is one lovely person and is worth a special mention! The Front office staff dealt with the check-in and the check-out quickly and in a professional manner. the Restaurant personnel was energetic and very effective, so was the Housekeeping. The rooms are spacious and perfectly fitted out with everything one may need: Bathrobes, slippers, good quality toiletries, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, even a small but very adequate complimentary bar, which was most welcome after a long walk in the beautiful Haarlem and Amsterdam. The breakfast and the coffee were more than good. The cleaning and the replenishing of used items in the room was perfectly done. Overall a great hotel with wonderfully nice staff who knew their duties well and left us with the feeling of being special and welcome! I highly recommend Carlton Square hotel for its sheer brilliance and excellent service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristalinaDimitrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Mr Kolev,

Wow, I am completely speechless because of your lovely review!!
Thank you sooo much for sharing your happiness and never hesitate to come back!!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Hotel is perfect, very clean with excellent staff who are very welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Staff could not be more helpful or courteous, a credit to the hotel. We hired bicycles which was great for getting about locally, everything is geared for the cyclist and although novices we felt very safe out and about. Public transport is great with local buses running very regularly, during the day every 6-8 minutes. Number 300 bus takes direct to Schiphol airport and train takes 20 minutes to get you into centre of Amsterdam. All in all a great hotel well worth a visit. Local shops and restaurants all within 5 minutes walk of hotel.

Room Tip: As a group we found all rooms great but if not to your liking, just ask staff to change. They canno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda19992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you very, very much for your lovely feedback!!
I really appreciate your kind words and detailed information for our future guests.
Looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a wonderful welcome to the city of Haarlem. The greetings from the employees was just warm and made us feel so welcome. We had many questions and asked for directions and they were NEVER too busy and politely answered every one. I did not want to check out .I will definitely go back and stay longer. The beds were just luscious. After that all night trip on KLM I was ready to stretch out and it was just perfect.
Thank you ,
I am planning another trip and I will stay with my friends at Carlton Square.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room on the fourth floor which looked toward a building that had offices. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Sandra,

Wow, thanks a million for your lovely report, you have made my day!!!
Looking forward to welcome you and your friends again!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is at a walking distance to the city center, and that was one of the main reasons we chose it.
From outside, the building looks rather old. The room however was very confortable: spacious, with a nice big bed, in a very quiet area. The decoration is not modern and could be improved (everything had a different pattern: curtains, carpet, pillows and so on), but it is not too bad.
We stayed on the 4th-floor, and we had a modern and very nice bathroom. A friend of us stayed on the 3rd-floor, and she still had a bathroom that had not been renovated: however, she said that the shower was excellent.
We also had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, and the food was very good!

Room Tip: New renovated bathrooms on the 4th-floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JBacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Bacana,

Many thanks for having taken the time to write things down, always good to know our guests’ experience.. Never hesitate to come back!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Not the first time I was visiting the Carlton Square in Haarlem, I was pleased to see my previous experiences confirmed. Personal and friendly reception, excellent room (suite), nice restaurant, parking in the basement, close to the city center, at the outskirts of a park, free internet...
Their suites come with a complementary bar service which gives you nothing to worry about.
I left after 2 days definitely resolved to come back here. When staying in (the vicinity of) Haarlem, there is no question about where to stay.

Room Tip: the extra money for a suite is well worth the extra value you receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buntinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

I was delighted to read your review following your recent stay at our hotel.

We highly appreciate your review and recommendation and hope to welcome you back very soon to be able to provide you with another memorable experienc!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For our very first trip to The Netherlands, we could not have found a better hotel or customer service anywhere! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for the most comfortable bed EVER offered in the area. The room was clean, quiet, and concierge was superb to answer every question we had and never tired of our inquisitive excitement over our stay. The restaurant also was a nice surprise ... lovely food for dinner and breakfast. This is my first choice of hotels for a return visit one day and the best kept secret over and above staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReAnn648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ReAnn,

What an absolute pleasure it is to read your incredibly wonderful review of your recent stay at Carlton Square.
It gives me great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you appreciated the beds
Thank you once again for sharing your ‘best kept secret’ and I hope to welcome you back soon in the near future!

With kind regards,

Anneke Rompa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were delighted with this hotel, situated on the edge of the bustling town of Haarlem. Our room, on the 5th floor, had a nice view of the park and was well kitted out. Our 3 night stay was comfortable on the whole, though we were rather hot one night and there's no air conditioning.
We ate out rather than dining at the hotel, so can't rate the restaurant at all but Haarlem has lots to offer.
It is a bit of a trek into Amsterdam, easy enough with frequent trains that go to the centre and buses that go to the museum quarter but it will take a chunk of your time and money. I would definitely recommend this hotel, with the footnote that it certainly isn't Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kldinpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneke R, General Manager at Carlton Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed and charming review. What a pity to read your remark about the ‘missing’ aircon: all our rooms are equipped with aircon that can be controlled per individual room. Hope to welcome you back soon!

With kind regards,


Anneke Rompa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 13 in Haarlem
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 13 in Haarlem
58 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 13 in Haarlem
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Square Hotel

Address: Baan 7, 2012 DB Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range: £88 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Square is an intimate 4-star Haarlem hotel in the heart of the charming city of Haarlem, combining international allure with luxurious ambiance and genuine hospitality. As you walk through the front door of our Haarlem hotel you will immediately feel drawn in by the staff, design and interior. The warmth of the cosy lounge and crackling fire in the hearth instantly give our guests that 'home away from home' feeling.Carlton Square, with 122 hotelrooms, is situated in the heart of the shopping district. Only 10 km from Schiphol International Airport and the Amsterdam RAI Congress Centre, the Carlton Square Hotel is located in Haarlem city centre just off one of the main roads leading to Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Square Haarlem
Hotel Carlton Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing