We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, good value”
Review of Hotel Lion D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lion D'Or
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location, good value”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very convenient location, a few metres from the railway station and a few minutes from the city centre of Haarlem.

The breakfast is not among the best for a 4 star hotel, and I did not like (of all things) my pillow, but the front desk was helpful with another one.

Friendly staff and very quiet location. If you want to get to Amsterdam, the location next to the railway station is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustavF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    109
    34
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
99
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel by accident and it was a great find. This was our first trip to The Netherlands and we were pleased not to be stuck in the middle of the stag and hen dos of Central Amsterdam.

We flew in to Amsterdam airport and caught a bus right outside straight to Haarlem for just €4 each. The hotel was then just a few metres away.

We were met by a lady on reception who couldn't do enough for us. Our room was on the second floor towards the back of the building and was silent. Perfect for me as I'm a really light sleeper.

From our base here we walked over the road to catch a train to Amsterdam for the day. It was really easy and you get to go on the double decker trains. We also spent a day in Haarlem itself as there are many places to visit. The Adriaan windmill is a must.

Overall we'd recommend this hotel to anyone after a quiet place to stay and explore. Nice rooms, comfy beds, proper size safe and free wifi in the rooms. Loads of great places to eat out around the hotel too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HealthAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

excellent conditions, super rooms, nice view from our room. next to the tram station. very honest price. quiet and helpful stuff. We will stay there again by all means. it was a little far away from the center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filip a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lion D'Or, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is good to read that you enjoyed your time at Golden Tulip Lion d'Or! We hope to see you back again soon. Our hotel is indeed at the Station Square, linking Amsterdam within 20 minutes. You can walk to Haarlem inner city in about 10 minutes. Dirk Pauw, front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Golden Tulip Lion D'Or is fully a **** experience -- right across the plaza from Train Station; little restaurant that was fine for dinner, excellent for breakfast; comfortable & spacious room (#34) with shower, quiet (Note: it's winter), and with very courteous, responsive, knowledgeable staff. Takes 20 minutes from AMS via commuter train to get here; shorter if you head here straight from Schiphol.

I was here for a 2-day touring visit to Haarlem sandwiched between other destinations. Left Lion D'Or hotel to walk in to town Centre at 9:30 this morning, walked back at 8 PM from a wonderful day exploring Haarlem (Frans Hals & the Teylers Museum + Saturday Market & nice dinner in town). It took 7 minutes to walk back to hotel (ergo train station).

There are plenty of nice (more upscale) hotels in town -- but if you are arriving late and want to get from station to hotel, rest, start afresh -- and at end of trip, leave luggage and pick up en route to train, this hotel is great.

I'll put in a pitch for Haarlem, as well. TripAdvisor reviews suggested coming here rather than Leiden. While I can't speak for Leiden, my Dutch friends said "go to Haarlem" so that ruled. Indeed this has been a super day of learning about Flemish art, history, geopolitics, Saturday markt, and architecture. I didn't sit down all day -- spent 3 hours in Frans Hals Museum, for example -- was just so enriching. Did have dinner at Cafe Colette tonight . From 5:45-on was increasingly and delightfully crowded with locals (including kids) and quite pleasant. Nice aubergine parmesan and creme brulee with a Sancerre.

Back to Hotel:
I would have given Lion D'Or 5***** just because they were exactly what I needed (including universal free wifi); but this IS a 3-4 * experience/amenities. Good example where enough can be exactly what you need, rather than the ultimate!

Room Tip: Some street noise based on train station -- in summer might want to ask to be in a room off the plaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tennisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Pleasant small hotel in excellent location near station and about 10 minutes walk from historic centre of Haarlem. Very clean, good buffet breakfast and brasserie meals. Staff very helpful. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186411Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lion D'Or, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is so inspiring to read that you enjoyed the hotel room and the service in the brasserie. We hope we can welcome you back in Haarlem some other time. As a returning guest, let us know if there is a specific room you prefer. We will always do what we can to get you back in your favorite room. Dirk Pauw, front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air MD
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Golden Tulip Lion D’or is a charming little hotel near the train station in Haarlem. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is tasty. Very convenient location. I will stay there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzraelBelAirMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Located just outside the old town of Haarlem with easy access to the pedestrian area & only half a block from train station. Clean, surprisingly quiet budget hotel. In a typical Dutch fashion room is cold as you enter - heating turned off. It takes a few hours to warm up, but once properly heated all OK.

Hower, the hotel restaurant is a disaster. We had a dinner for 4 and 2 of the 4 main cources were barely edible. There is plenty of restaurants in the old town just a few mins walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTLiondor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lion D'Or, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We are so sorry that you had such a bad experience in our restaurant! We just started a new menu including some game dishes. Game obviously has its very own specific taste. That night we learnt that the gooze we served was indeed not up to our standard. Our offer to serve an alternative dish, not from the game menu, was rejected. Subsequently we took the filet of wild gooze off the menu. We compensated you on the spot with free drinks, but hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our brasserie some other time to proove we can do better!
Dirk Pauw, front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion D'Or

Property: Hotel Lion D'Or
Address: Kruisweg 34-36, 2011 LC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lion D'Or 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lion d'Or is a classic city hotel, close to the Haarlem railway station and excellent airport connection through the R-Net #300 bus. Since 1839 we try to deliver the best sleeping comfort, keeping up with trends and innovations. Guests enjoy breakfast in our brand new lounge, where we also serve drinks and snacks daily until 1am. Rooms come with double or twin beds, and shower or bath tub. There is superfast Wi-Fi all over the building and Nespresso machines in all rooms. Our multilingual staff is at reception 24/7 to welome and assist at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lion D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Haarlem
Golden Tulip Haarlem
Haarlem Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing