We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Hotel Carillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Carillon
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Haarlem
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

1 night stay in a single room. Typical Dutch stairways to get to 3rd floor for small, quaint single room which needs some updating. Shared bathroom so it has a hostel/B&B feel to it but the price is too high for what you get so you're basically paying for location which is right on the main sq opposite the cathedral.

Staff friendly and accommodating. Hotel is basic and there is nothing wrong with that but suffers from being in an expensive town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingDutchMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carillon_Haarlem, Owner at Hotel Carillon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Hi FlyingDutchMark,

Thanks very much for taking time to provide your honest review and rating.

I just wanted to let you and others know that the top floor of our hotel does indeed have shared facilities. These are only single rooms and relatively small. However this is the cheapest accomodation you will find on the Haarlem square. This is indeed an expensive town but we try to offer value for money while covering our expenses.

Please note the rest of our rooms have private facilities and that includes single room type also.

We recently acquired this hotel and so funding is short but we intend to make an update of the rooms very shortly.

All the best,

Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank infoD2103WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Frans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Réserver longtemps à l'avance, ville de curistes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 13 in Haarlem
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 13 in Haarlem
254 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 13 in Haarlem
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carillon

Address: Grote Markt 27, 2011 RC Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range: £69 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carillon 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Carillon!We're a small family-run hotel located at the heart of the beautiful city of Haarlem. We've just re-launched this hotel since January 2013 so we don't have many reviews just yet on TripAdvisor. Please allow us to tell you 3 things about our hotel:(1) Great location: We sit right off the central market square. We're 5 minutes walk to the train that takes you to Amsterdam centre in just 15 minutes.(2) Low rates: We offer very low rates for a Haarlem hotel. Our customers come to spend their time out and about enjoying what Haarlem and Amsterdam have to offer. So we are small, clean and provide the best services we can at the very best prices.(3) Great restaurant:Nestled at the ground floor is Restaurant Carillon that is a warm cosy hangout from morning to dusk. We have regular locals from the area that love the food here and even if you don't stay we'd love you to visit for a coffee, beer or evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carillon Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing