We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food....”

Urban Frenchy Bistro Toujours
Reserve with
Urban Frenchy Bistro Toujours is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 322 Restaurants in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Authentic urban Frenchy bistro offering great French wines at surprisingly affordable prices, lobsters, dry aged beef and oysters.
Erwitte, Germany
Level Contributor
216 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“High quality food....”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

with great choices and friendly if slow service. Well presented, tasty fresh food with choices for everyone - worth the wait. Friendly service if a little slow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    66
    18
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Place to Eat”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We ate a meal in "Toujours"last week. We were advised to visit by the delightful lady who looked after us during our stay at L'Anders. We were given a complimentary drink on arrival and left to choose from the very tempting menu, there was so much good stuff on there we didn't know where to start so opted for the three course set menu priced at a very reasonable 29.50 euros. Our host was extremely attentive and welcoming and our meal was outstanding both in taste and presentation. We would highly recommend a visit to this comfortable, central venue.

Chris and Graham

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fish and Meat at its best”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely relaxing few days in Haarlem. One of the joys of getting away is eating out and in the three days we had some truly good food. The best was Toujours, a new fish and meat restaurant located just behind the church in the square . Toujours is a new venture owned by the wonderful people who also own and run the best place to stay in Haarlem, B&B L'Anders( see my previous review). The restaurant is modern and casual in decor but with a fresh warmth to it. Perfect service from our knowledgable hosts and waiter. We started with a sparkling glass of wine and perused the well put together menus. Very good daily specials. We were celebrating so went for the Plateau de fruits de mer grand to share , it was perfect with a large selection of oysters, lobster, mussels, prawns and what we call razor fish. We also had a bowl of the best fretes! Great selection of wines by the glass or bottle. What a splendid evening we had!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rsandps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Modern dining”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This hasn't been 'Toujours' for very long, however in the two times I've been here, the menu has completely changed due to a new chef. Slightly disappointing as the first time we were there, one of us had a burger - which was delicious - but the second time, there was no burger on the menu.

The decor is very hip, lots of butchery-themed aspects and interesting light-fittings. Good atmosphere, although I've never seen the place full.

The food is good; I can recommend the steak (but not the belly cut that they seemed to be pushing one night we were there - found this too rich in flavour and chewy). The lobster and the now discontinued burger are/were excellent. All come with great fries and mayo.

I also had the onion soup both times, but I think the first chef's take on it was much better than the second chef's.

A nice surprise was how great the desserts are. Their apple pie is a very modern take on a Dutch classic, served with a delectable vanilla sauce (in a ceramic milk carton no less!)

The staff are very friendly, but I think they've been told to adopt an American waiting on style... I'm all for friendly service, but this bordered on disruptive at times.

Overall, this is one of the 'cooler' restaurants in Haarlem, serving tasty, well-presented food in a stylish setting. I will go back, and would definitely sign a petition to bring back that burger!

Helpful?
Thank Anexpatwifeytalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food good, service slow”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We went here on a dining city offer for a lobster menu. The food was good and we enjoyed the starter, the main course was lobster, my husband had it cooked on the grill and it tasted very smokey, mine was boiled and tasted better. The pudding was a huge slice of chocolate tart which was rich and tasty. The wine was good.
The down side was the service - it was very slow. We had booked the table for 7.30, the starter came quite quickly but the main course was slow and didn't arrive until after 9pm. I appreciate the lobster was cooked to request but we were tired and out of wine/water by the time our desert arrived at 10pm!.
The restaurant used to be Koetjes and Kalfjes and the interior has not changed much, it is just now a fish and meat restaurant.
I will go back and hopefully the service will improve.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissGeorgeLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Frenchy Bistro Toujours also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Urban Frenchy Bistro Toujours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing