We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel was okay. Arrived during a two day heatwave and the air con in the room is really poor. Which made for a awful nights sleep. They also provide you with a fridge in your room, which comes with both soft drinks and alcohol. We counted our drinks on arrival and found that we were one whisky short, but didn't think to report it. When we departed, they tried to charge us for it. So I would check to see that every things how it should be in the fridge. The bed was fairly comfortable, but the rooms aren't that big. The TV would have been nice if it had some English channels (I know I'm in a foreign country, but more choice would have been good) The place itself is really nice, lots of eating places / bars. People seem really friendly and polite.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with your window open, then don't get a room facing the church. The bells w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    205
    53
    9
    7
See reviews for
31
176
22
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arriving around 6pm on a Friday I was given the last room available, which was quite small with an even smaller window. The bathroom however was large and bright with Dove bodywash/shampoo, and the bed was extremely comfortable. I visited Haarlem on supposedly the hottest day of the year and even with the A/C cranked up to the maximum my room still felt very warm and stuffy.

Water dispensers were available on each floor which came in very handy in the heat. Wireless wifi was also provided.

The location of Frans Hals is excellent, with Grote Markt one block away on one side and the canal on the other. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within 2-minute walk and the long shopping street is an easy 5-min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FollowThatBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just by the cathedral, this old hotel has been nicely revamped and made cosy + modern at the same time. The rooms are ok, quiet enough and the beds are very comfy. We did not try the buffet breakfast, which was not included in our deal. We would definitely come back !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J_from_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Haarlem is a beautiful place and this hotel is just located in the center of this little place near Ámsterdam. The hotel is really nice and comfortable. You must visit this city and stay at the Amrath hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Maybe my standards are too high but I was really disappointed with this hotel.

Tiny room, smelly hallways, dirty sheets. Internet/wifi was awful.

The Front Desk staff was ok, Rob was great, everyone else seemed really un-informed. No one had answers to questions of nearby attractions, directions, tourist information. But Haarlem doesn't seem to be too tourist-friendly a place..

I understand availability was very low but we were put in a tiny room with two twin beds pushed together.

Room service was prompt..

Disappointing..

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces an alleyway/walkway which most likely is more quiet.. The other side fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Neutral
- Standard breakfest, not too bad
- Perfect if you have no car

Pro
- Central close to cathedral (old part of the city)
- Free water dispenser / apples on each floor
- Modern bathroom

Contra
- Bit too loud in first floor as bars are around

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadosos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I arrived with my friend on the night of 18th of April, we booked our stay via vakantieveillingen however they still gave us an upgrade to a junior suite! the room was quiet, we both slept very well, shower also funcioned perfectly. the ability to make coffee in the morning free of charge was also perfect! the team of the hotel were friendly, unfortunately we were not able to stay longer tan one night! but I would defenitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmdb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals

Property: Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Address: Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haarlem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals is a beautiful 4-star hotel, located in the lively centre of Haarlem. Step out of the hotel and walk right into the inviting city of Haarlem, where you can marvel at historical buildings, charming squares, and lively shopping quarter. The 82 stylish guest rooms at Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals all have complementary wireless internet. Get a good start to the day with a tasty breakfast at the hotel; and to close it off in a convivial atmosphere, the hotel offers an attractive bar. Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals does not have its own restaurant, but you will find plenty of charming establishments within a 150-metre radius. For business purposes there is a spacious meeting room available. Haarlem is a charming city, with characteristic monumental buildings and beautiful inner courtyards around every corner. This city offers something for everyone. For example, you can visit the Teylers Museum and the Frans Hals Museum. Or if you prefer shopping - Haarlem is known to be one of the best shopping destinations in the country. Amsterdam is approximately a 15-minute drive from Haarlem, and Zandvoort is also nearby. Here, you can get a wonderful breath of fresh sea air and enjoy a long walk on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Haarlem
Best Western Haarlem
Haarlem Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing