We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant hotel experience in Netherland”
Review of Raecks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Raecks
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unpleasant hotel experience in Netherland”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I spent 7 days in Netherland for a holiday and stayed in a Die Raeckse Hotel owned by a Chinese couple. We paid the total bill upfront with cash (660.80 euros).

The first day we arrived, the owner (she) was friendly. However, everything turned so differently on the second day onwards. Why? The owner(she) was unhappy with the amount of food we took for the breakfast even though we never wasted any of it!

The eyes of the woman never stop watching how much we eat for breakfast throughout our stay! We (especially me) felt uncomfortable with the way she treated us. If we hadn't already paid the bill in full, I would have asked my husband to move to a different hotel.

The owner should pay more attention to the few problems in the hotel such as narrow stairs, noise as the result of thin walls, unsteady toilet seat, torn net curtain, etc rather than observing how much people eat!

We would never choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Puspareny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    32
    11
    0
See reviews for
10
36
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hotel Die Raeckse and really enjoyed the stay (me, wife, young daughter). Haarlem was a great alternative for us vs. Amsterdam. Very close to Amsterdam (~15 minutes train or about the same time by car). However, we were interested in seeing some other sites (e.g. Keukenhof) and were driving, which made the smaller, calmer Haarlem the perfect location.

We found the hotel very nice. It is not luxury nor fancy, but very clean and well run. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful with any questions or needs. The included breakfast was very good each morning. We would definitely choose Die Raeckse again.

Room Tip: The rooms very a lot by size. We had 3 sinlge beds and the room was very large. There were other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel looks rather old although maintained in a decent level. The room was the tiniest I ever had. The TV remote did not work. I had no one in the desk to ask for neither the Wi-FI key nor batteries/remote replacement after 9 PM. There were too few power sockets and no internet socket at all. The accessibility to the radiator valve was poor. I froze before I found the right direction of the knob. The staff was pleasant although not fluent English speakers. Breakfast was poor and so was the room furniture. I did not suffer there but it was not a cozy stay at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edeniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haarlem hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We were so glad we decided to stay in Haarlem rather than Amsterdam - nice location, good breakfast, friendly owners. The bed was much more comfortable than the place we stayed in Brussels and we had much more room.

Would have no problem recommending this hotel to a friend who wanted to see Amsterdam but not stay there - plus Haarlem was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallTownGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nispen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hotel die Raeckse is very well situated, It is not a luxury hotel, it's clean and the staff is very friendly. We had a basic room, but there are rooms with more luxury. Our bathroom was freezing. The breakfast was very well. As parking in Haarlem is expensive we could buy a parking ticket in the hotel for € 7,50 for a whole day, so that was cheap.
At my next visit to Haarlem I will sleep here again, but take a more expensive room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marathon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
372 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed here during a convention and the hotel was well situated for the occassion, but still: small room, like being back in the seventies (green/brownish decoration of the bathroom), bathroom was freezingly cold and the door knob of the bathroom was held together with a safety pin (...).
Our room was situated at the street side of the hotel and at night we were kept up by people coming from the club nearby and in the morning we were woken by garbagebins with glass being collected, wipe car driving by etc.
The part of the hotel where the rooms are smelled of overcooked brussels-sprouts...

They do have free Wifi which is much appreciated and breakfast was okay as well, being the cheapest hotel available in Haarlem, this was to be expected, but cheap it was not! Maybe Haarlem is just an expensive city?

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Great location, large clean rooms, delicious homely breakfast, friendly hosts. Had a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ps20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
654 reviews
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
239 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Haarlem
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raecks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raecks

Property: Raecks
Address: Raaks 1-3, 2011 VA Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Raecks 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsNL, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raecks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Die Raeckse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing