We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stempels Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haarlem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stempels Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Haarlem
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a tour group. The rooms in the hotel vary; most people had "standard" rooms while mine had a decorated ceiling, elegant chandelier, and fireplace.

There was noise from two sources: people outside the hotel and from the church bells, which played every quarter hour, it seemed. Fortunately both noise sources went away by the time I wanted to sleep.

The hotel is just a few blocks from the main square and an easy walk to everything you'd want to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElissNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    42
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
42
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing. The decor is very nice, the room is big and clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. The location is perfect, it is near the train station, the restaurants, the main place of the town...could not ask for more! I would absolutely recommend this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2012youngtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

we are two girsl ,When I bathed in the smaller bathroom cabinet ,Iwant more fresh air ,I have not close the door tightness, so the water flow out , the hotel staff and manager let us to open the door ,say we have not close the door tightness, as to let the ceiling leak in the next floor, I said it is your business,not mine,because your facilities. and the manager have a bad attitude ,reject say sorry to us. After ten minutes,when we wash our underwear,we found the washbasin blocked off, then the staff comes, the waitress in Africa threaten us not to wash everything in the washbasin,and want to push me into the bathroom, I found I am in dangerous situation,so I let the African to get out ,she unplug our the hotel door card ,so the room in the dark. the staff say you can call police, in this circumstance,as a tourist,I have nothing to do, I only want to say your action to shame of your country. In holland ,we met so many helpful people ,your behavior is shameful.

Room Tip: pool service ,they dont know service meaning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lanlan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
287 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our Country Walkers tour booked this hotel for the group and it was very charming. It was originally the printing and engraving site and now is a lovely hotel in the historic district. We had a large room with king size bed on the second floor. Very comfortable. Plenty of towels but no wash cloths. No view from our room, but we were out doing things so it didn't matter. Also didn't hear street noise on this side.
A decent breakfast buffet was included. We ate one group dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent.
The location was perfect for exploring the historic center of the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

From flexible check-in to perfect location in the old city center to good internet and friendly service, this hotel is perfect for business or vacation travel. I love the history of the building and the updated rooms and baths within the classic envelope and wood floors. The always remember your name in the office or restaurant. You can't walk to the train station into Amsterdam but all the best shops and good eateries are close, beds are very comfy, only negative is that main floor noise flows up the stairs to front 2nd floor rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We chose Stempels based on tripadvisor reviews and are very glad we did. Our junior suite overlooking the church was quiet, clean and comfortable, and although there was only one dormer window, the room was well-lit. (We did wish they offered free wifi instead of having a desptop in the room.) The building is charming and has historical character. Unlike some other reviewers, we found the staff to be very friendly and professional (helping us over the phone as we struggled to navigate into the city center, promptly providing extra towels, serving trays of tea and hot chocolate during the big storm that hit while we were there, and offering friendly and prompt assistance when we accidentally locked ourselves out of our room safe.) We also really enjoyed the hearty and well-varied breakfast. We were so glad we chose to stay in Haarlem, which is charming and makes a great base for easy day trips to Amsterdam. It was especially convenient to be able to leave our car in the parking garage located very near Stempels and rely on local trains to explore the area. Stempels' location and ambiance is charming and convenient -- we'd stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was my first visit to Haarlem and a friend who now lives here recommended Stempels.
Glad he did: I arrived late so restaurant was shut (no noise - may be a problem ?) so went straight to the room after some friendly check-in banter during which I found out about the past of the building as a banknote press site.
The door to the room is odd in that it was part-glass but a curtain gave privacy. The room was midsize, very clean and with a large queen bed. Furnishings all modern with a PC in your room for you to use (also free wi-fi - well done). Bathroom was spacious and clean with a powerful shower. everything worked. Towels more 3* than 4* but OK.
All in all a good choice also given location behind the main church just off the central square.
Breakfast perhaps not great but adequate - usual buffet system.
Will return esp at €100ish rate.
ps - Really liked Haarlem...worth spending a day there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gastronauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haarlem hotels
Centrum
Amrath Grand Hotel Frans Hals
Carlton Square Hotel
#1 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Hotel Lion D'Or
#4 of 12 in Haarlem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Haarlem Hotelsuites
Haarlem Hotelsuites
#6 of 12 in Haarlem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Centrum
Ambassador City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stempels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stempels Hotel

Property: Stempels Hotel
Address: Klokhuisplein 9, 2011 HK Haarlem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Haarlem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Stempels you are welcome to eat, drink, having a party, to enjoy performances, to organize meetings and stay overnight. This all happens on the premises of the former Joh. Enschede complex, where for many years the Dutch banknotes has been pressed as well as post stamps for a lot of different countries. In other words, a place with a rich history, renovated into a modern hotel-restaurant, full of cosy atmosphere, right in the centre of the monumental heart of Haarlem. The well known Haarlem restaurant owner, Frans van Cappelle, wish to extend a warm welcome to you. On the first, second and third floor of the building are seventeen hotel rooms. The first and second floor are attainable by lift, but if you are in good condition, we recommend the old monumental staircase.There are four comfort rooms, six superior rooms, five luxury rooms, one junior suite and one suite. All rooms are provided with Hästens beds, airconditioning, a flat screen television set, a computer, free (wireless-) internet facilities, toilet and a shower. The luxury rooms and suites also have a bath. Like everywhere in the building one can find original decorations and ornaments in the hotel rooms.Staying at the front of the building one has a magnificent view of the Klokhuisplein and the St.Bavo church. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stempels Hotel Haarlem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing