We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming house in a charming town!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Modern and sun-filled Modern and sun-filled bathroom with towels, toiletries and hairdryer for your
Front facade of the Charming House
Ambient fireplace
Bright and sunny loft-style bedroom with adjacent lounge area (with convertable sofabed)
Front facade - Welcome!
Charming interior.  Welcome to Holland!
Washing Machine and Dryer for your convenience
Newly recarpeted traditional dutch staircase. It's a little steep but we've added lots of handrails!
Located on a walking street in a quiet neighbourhood, close to the city centre
Charming Decor and all your self-catering needs provided for
The charming streets of Haarlem
The Grote Markt of Haarlem
A beautiful historical building near Grote Markt, Haarlem
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haarlem, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MPRD_UK
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A charming house in a charming town!”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I was a little concerned about the location next to a multi-storey car park but I needn't have been as the location was quiet and only a short walk from the centre of Haarlem and bus stops. The Wi-Fi was excellent even using a VPN.

You do need to look carefully at the photograph of the stairs, which are as steep and narrow as the companionway on a boat. It wasn't a problem for us but you should be aware that it may not be easy to heft your suitcases up to the bedroom.

I would happily return here and found it an excellent base from which to visit Amsterdam, keukenhof, Leiden and Aalsmeer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with all the amenities”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The apartment is beautiful and all info and amenities a traveler could ever need are provided. The hosts Rudy and Bea did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. Perfect!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thankyou so much for being our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back again next time you visit Haarlem. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSOMacon
Macon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet neighborhood close to city center”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Charming House in Haarlem. We were able to feel like neighborhood residents rather than just tourists. I was surprised at how quiet it was at night given that the central plaza was just a short walk away. The house is clean and nicely decorated with lots of helpful instructions. My daughter loved the bed in the alcove as she could draw the curtains and feel like she was in a cozy nest. We enjoyed walking along the canal, touring the Teyler's Museum, the Corrie ten Boom house, and the church, and the Italian restaurant we ate at the first night was so good that we went back the second night. Our second day we took the train into Amsterdam which involved a pleasant walk to the train station and then a 20-minute train ride. The crush of tourists, noise, and big-city chaos in Amsterdam made us thankful to return to quiet Haarlem that evening. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your time at Charming House and appreciated the beautiful city of Haarlem. We would like to extend a warm elcome back if you ever return. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very clean and was situated in the beautiful town of Haarlem which could have been a holiday itself! It was easy to get between the airport and central Amsterdam by train, and had some lovely restaurants and supermarkets nearby too. The house was our lovely home for 3 nights and we really felt at home, it had all of the facilities we needed to be comfortable and we were even left some Dutch treats! (The stroopwafels we’re a personal favourite) The owners were also so helpful answering every question that we had.
I would highly recommend this house, great value for money and a lovely place to stay with easy access to tourist sites and shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was wonderful to host you and your friends and would be our pleasure to do so again. All the best and we wish you many happy travels! Bea & Rudy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronwen67
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best possible place to stay in Haarlem”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sparkling row house, in a lovely old town, easy public transportation to attractions such as the National Park in the dunes, Amsterdam. We greatly appreciated information provided by our hosts including details of red bus 300 from Schiphol Airport, even what stop to get off. The house was very well supplied, the back yard pleasant, the local grocery store wonderful. We walked all over and particularly enjoyed the Hofjes and the Windmollen Adriaan. Couldn't recommend this rental more highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Charming House. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope we can again if you ever return to Haarlem. Take care and happy travels, Bea and Rudy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a visit to Haarlem this is an excellent place to stay .”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Charming House is in an excellent location for a holiday in Haarlem . We drove there and there is a very convenient car park directly opposite . We left the car there all week as Haarlem is wonderful for walking . We used the train to go into Amsterdam and for visiting other places of interest . The house itself is good as a base and the little garden at the rear made it perfect . The weather was excellent while we were there so using the garden for breakfast and dinner in the evening when we returned from sight seeing was a great bonus. Rudy and Bea made sure we had everything we needed . We will certainly return .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Great to hear that the Dutch weather brought you plenty of sunshine during your stay :) We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Haarlem. Take care and happy travels! Bea and Rudy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam H
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfort with a huge splash of class”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is by far the best spot I've stayed in to date and I've stayed in quite a few all around the world. The moment you arrive you are welcomed by a charming house located a stones throw from the city centre. The house is very tastefully furnished along with a state of the art home entertainment system. A really cool patio area at the rear of the house is a welcoming sight especially after a fantastic days shopping, here you can put your feet up and unwind to the singing of the birds and tranquility. Rudy and Bea have thought of everything and more right down to shampoo! The owners here are at the very top of their game, true polished pro's is all I can say, keep up the stellar work guys. I'm definitely returning after 3 months, it's heaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
We are so glad that we were able to make your time in Haarlem so enjoyable. :) Thank you for voicing your appreciation of all our work and efforts. It is very rewarding to hear. We look forward to hosting you again November!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;