We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual pub dining with hearty meals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruxelles

Bruxelles
Ranked #83 of 313 Restaurants in Haarlem
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Cafe, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Casual pub dining with hearty meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Try the sweet cherry beer. Goes great with the spare ribs! Meal was very good and large portions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank archaeologytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honnest food for low price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Came there 4 years ago And return twice One month ago. Definitly a good restaurant And low price. I like The student ambiance The cool And serious service And The galery upstairs. Good And trendy music also. Serious portions The Lamb is very good And dessert goods. I recommand.
Denis from Versailles France.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramel78600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great local find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The owner of our B&B recommended Bruxelles as an inexpensive place to eat and since we were on a bit of a budget, we decided to try it as it was also close by. Once the bartender realized we didn't speak Dutch, he immediately switched over to English and explained everything on the menu. Every day there are specials to choose from in addition to their normal menu. We had two of the specials and the food was very good and plentiful. For dessert, we tried the sticky toffee and it was amazing! Bruxelles has an extensive beer selection and while I stuck to a white beer, my husband sampled some of the other offerings. The staff shares the work, so whoever takes your order may not be the one to bring it or get you another drink, but we found everyone friendly and helpful.

We ended up eating here a second time before we left and still found it to be a great option if you're looking for a cozy, local spot to have a good meal.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaksGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No nonsense, good basic food, reasonably priced, huge beer selection.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Been eating here on and off for two years, always consistent, always good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Cheap and easy :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

Cheap and easy :)

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bruxelles also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing